Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I know this may shock some people, but, OK, I changed this a little bit when I made it. I used four pounds of chili cut meat, and substituted one can of crushed tomatoes for one tomato sauce. But this was one of the best chilis I've ever had, and I like chili! I put the ingredients in a large crock pot instead of back on the stove. Topped the bowls with shredded cheese and sour cream, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This is a good recipe for those of us who like thick chili. My husband is not fond of big chunks of tomato. I'm confused as to why Andy used tomato paste. No wonder his chili was dry. There's a big difference between paste and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Well, it's a simple recipe, and I like the texture and look of it, but I did have to use 30 oz of tomato sauce, and I found the 3/4 cup chili powder to be just way too much. Next time, I'll use 30 oz tomato sauce and cut the chili powder down to about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is an excellent chili recipe. I make it with a few changes and it is always delicious. 4 lbs. ground meat instead of 5 2 15 oz. cans of tomatoe sauce instead of 1 1 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes 1 14.5 oz can of beef broth 1 1.25 oz. package of chili seasoning 6 tbs. of chili powder 2 cans of kidney beans instead of 1 everything else is the same. This gives it a wonderful flavor and consistency. Either way you cook it this is good chili. Thank you MissCanada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I like this chili a lot. I froze some of the leftovers and used them for chili cheese fries and on baked potatoes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
3/4 cup of chili powder... were you kidding? You must buy in bulk:-) This recipe has so much meat and veggies it was dry so I added more liquid. To start with I used 29 instead of 20 ozs of tomato paste and I still found it too dry so I've added another 29 oz can (3 times what is called for) otherwise this is way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Love how thick this chili is, even when made w/ 3 lbs. of ground turkey (you need to brown it in a little olive oil) instead of 5 lbs. of beef. Tip for beginning cooks: when a chili recipe includes tomato "sauce", it doesn't mean pasta sauce, but something like Hunt's "tomato sauce" which is basically tomato puree w/ a little salt. In fact, canned tomato puree works just as well. I also love that this recipe used fresh onions, peppers and garlic. I added 2 t. dried marjoram and 1/8 t. cinnamon to compensate for the milder turkey taste. For a potluck, I enjoy making this in a Dutch oven, then mixing up a batch of Southern-style unsweetened cornbread batter, pouring it on top of the chili and baking the whole thing uncovered on the top rack of a 375*F oven until the cornbread is set and lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Dh loves this! Made it tonight thanks to the cooler weather and it was a big hit - as per the other reviews, I used 2.5-3 lbs hamburger, 2 15-oz cans of tomato sauce, then filled one of the cans full of water (about 1 3/4 cups), and cut back on the chili powder (I can't imagine 3/4 of a cup) . Also added in a couple of beef bouillon cubes. Yum! I look forward to seeing how it is the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Used crushed tomatoes and two cans of beans. Left out the red pepper and used frozen diced onions and green peppers, salt and pepper. Reduced the amount of meat to half and it was still extremely meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
great recipe. i did a couple of minor changes. i substituted a can of tomatoes for a can of sauce as suggested and i used a small amount of chili seasoning out of a packet. i also used chili beans instead of kindey beans sinse that was what was on hand. i will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States