Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Serving for four: 1 & 1/2 lbs hamburg, 1/4 cup each finely chopped carrots, onions, peppers and 1 clove garlic. I used 2 cans kidney beans and 1 can black beans (we like a lot of beans) 1/4 cup chilli powder and 1/4 bag taco seasoning, 1 quart (we canned them this summer) tomatoes (crush with your hands) and enough water to make it the desired consistency. After I browned the meat with the veggies, put it all in crock pot for about 5-6 hours low. Served with buttermilk skillet cornbread and you are set to go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
For my first attempt at cooking, I thought I was in big trouble messing with Chili. But it came out great. I added some corn for color. A spoon of sour cream and a side of corn bread and it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very good recipe with just a few modifications. We used stewed tomatoes & diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. Also, used 1/2 C chili powder instead of 3/4 C. We'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I loved this chili, I made 18 servings and added 2 pounds of italian sausage instead of all ground beef. I also added in several Jalapeno and Serrano peppers for spice. I also used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I made enough for everybody at work and it was very well recieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is an excellent chili recipe. I make it with a few changes and it is always delicious. 4 lbs. ground meat instead of 5 2 15 oz. cans of tomatoe sauce instead of 1 1 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes 1 14.5 oz can of beef broth 1 1.25 oz. package of chili seasoning 6 tbs. of chili powder 2 cans of kidney beans instead of 1 everything else is the same. This gives it a wonderful flavor and consistency. Either way you cook it this is good chili. Thank you MissCanada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
My family and I loved how this chili came out i used the red Kidney Beans it was fabulous this recipe was a winner in this household and will be used alot thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Great recipe. I substituted the kidney beans with chili beans...turned out great. Perfect for "leftover night". This fed my family for a few days. To extend it a little longer, I added cooked spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Dh loves this! Made it tonight thanks to the cooler weather and it was a big hit - as per the other reviews, I used 2.5-3 lbs hamburger, 2 15-oz cans of tomato sauce, then filled one of the cans full of water (about 1 3/4 cups), and cut back on the chili powder (I can't imagine 3/4 of a cup) . Also added in a couple of beef bouillon cubes. Yum! I look forward to seeing how it is the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My husband doesn't like beans so I tried this recipe and omitted the beans. He loved it! It was definitely a winner for football Sunday's when all the guys are over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
It's a good basic recipe. I think it would be funnier if it had ground Chuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States