Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Serving for four: 1 & 1/2 lbs hamburg, 1/4 cup each finely chopped carrots, onions, peppers and 1 clove garlic. I used 2 cans kidney beans and 1 can black beans (we like a lot of beans) 1/4 cup chilli powder and 1/4 bag taco seasoning, 1 quart (we canned them this summer) tomatoes (crush with your hands) and enough water to make it the desired consistency. After I browned the meat with the veggies, put it all in crock pot for about 5-6 hours low. Served with buttermilk skillet cornbread and you are set to go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
For my first attempt at cooking, I thought I was in big trouble messing with Chili. But it came out great. I added some corn for color. A spoon of sour cream and a side of corn bread and it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very good recipe with just a few modifications. We used stewed tomatoes & diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. Also, used 1/2 C chili powder instead of 3/4 C. We'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I loved this chili, I made 18 servings and added 2 pounds of italian sausage instead of all ground beef. I also added in several Jalapeno and Serrano peppers for spice. I also used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I made enough for everybody at work and it was very well recieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is an excellent chili recipe. I make it with a few changes and it is always delicious. 4 lbs. ground meat instead of 5 2 15 oz. cans of tomatoe sauce instead of 1 1 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes 1 14.5 oz can of beef broth 1 1.25 oz. package of chili seasoning 6 tbs. of chili powder 2 cans of kidney beans instead of 1 everything else is the same. This gives it a wonderful flavor and consistency. Either way you cook it this is good chili. Thank you MissCanada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
My family and I loved how this chili came out i used the red Kidney Beans it was fabulous this recipe was a winner in this household and will be used alot thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Great recipe. I substituted the kidney beans with chili beans...turned out great. Perfect for "leftover night". This fed my family for a few days. To extend it a little longer, I added cooked spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Dh loves this! Made it tonight thanks to the cooler weather and it was a big hit - as per the other reviews, I used 2.5-3 lbs hamburger, 2 15-oz cans of tomato sauce, then filled one of the cans full of water (about 1 3/4 cups), and cut back on the chili powder (I can't imagine 3/4 of a cup) . Also added in a couple of beef bouillon cubes. Yum! I look forward to seeing how it is the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My husband doesn't like beans so I tried this recipe and omitted the beans. He loved it! It was definitely a winner for football Sunday's when all the guys are over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
It's a good basic recipe. I think it would be funnier if it had ground Chuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States