Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
The first time I made it, it was really too thick for me, so I changed it a bit. My version is still thick but as thick as the original; I've also changed this recipe to a lower fat version using 3 lbs. ground turkey (99% fat free). I seasoned the turkey with Worcestershire sauce, granulated beef boullion, Complete Seasoning, and my mother-in-law's sofrito. Instead of using water, I used beef broth. I also used 2 cans of chili beans in medium sauce, 2 cans of fire-roasted tomatoes with 1 can of tomato sauce. Because I have young children who do not like spice, I cut the chili powder back to 1/4 c. I added Tabasco to my personal bowl to increase the heat. Fairly Quick and easy for a weeknight supper. If you want it last a couple of days, serve it over a 1/4 cup of Uncle Ben's Microwavable Pouch - type rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A. Milan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Ohhh, this was good, my husband, who is from Romania, and generally doesn't care for a lot of American dishes ate this one up and asked when i was going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Odessa Toma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieFanatic
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is my favourite recipe. Though I did make changes.. I seared beef stewing cubes and simmered it for up to 2 hours in beef broth until it was really tender. I then follwed the recipe and added the beef cubes and cooked it all together. I used a can of tomato puree and another of diced tomatoes. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This recipe rocks!! I love meat in my chili...I cut back a little on the onion and beans and take every scoop with a cracker! Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My husband said this was ok. I reduced the chili powder as suggested by others, and the amount of spice was right. He just didn't think it had the right consistency. I guess he's more of a 'soupy' chili guy, but thanks for the recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I have put my previous chili recipe away for this one! It's delicious and easy and doesn't take all day to make like some others. I've made this many times already and the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
EXCELLENT chili recipe. I added a little extra water to make it the consistency I like and added chili powder to taste - not what the recipe calls for. Great meaty chili, I don't like beans much so this was perfect. This does make a lot so prepare to freeze some for later lunches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I absolutely love this chili!! I am not big on the beans so I add a half can to my mix. Other than that...hmmmm hmmm hmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is good stuff! I made this and everyone that had some just loved it. The first time I made it I only made half of what the recipe called for, but it was gone fast. Next time I make it, I will make the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a good basic recipe. I used two cans of beans and a 28oz. can of tomatoes. I also added cumin and chipotle chili powder. I substituted a bottle of our favorite beer for the water. Served with cornbread and sides of sour cream and shredded cheese...our guests were very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States