Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
No flavor - after sitting in my crock pot for 4 hours, I had to add salt, more garlic and cumin and it was still bland. The idea behind the chili is good, but be prepared to add more seasoning to get any flavor to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Delicious! I think I will add black beans next time - but my husband loved all that meat, meat, meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
very good recipe, i added left over cherry tomatoes to the recipe and it was delicious. i am making myself another pot tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I loved it and so did my husband and father-in-law! I will definitely use this recipe when I'm making chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
My family and I enjoyed this recipe "EXACTLY" as written. It totally annoys me when no one gives the exact recipe a chance BEFORE they make it. The description was clear, MEATY and NOT tomato-ey. Why complain it has to much meat and not enough tomato? And why say 5 stars when you mean, made your way? Once the recipe is altered, it is nolonger the original recipe is it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolivia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Winnabow, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Oh MAN good! I added hot peppers instead of the sweet ones and added some cumin for personal preference. I also browned the meat then threw everything into my slow cooker and went to bed. With that said, this is an amazingly meaty and wonderful chili. It made a ton and it will feed me for a couple of weeks! (I will freeze some) SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
If you are looking for a MEATY chili this is it! My husband suggested a meatier chili as opposed to a saucy one - for him this one was "PERFECT" I cut the recipe in half and cooked about 2.5 lbs of meat. And sprinkled chili powder to taste - not as much as directed. We sprinkled cheese and some sour cream on top too, it was just so tasty!! I will be making this one every time I make chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I like the way this recipe looked simple.No 140 ingredients,simple.The only thing I would change is add cumin.After all cumin smells like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Excellent thick chili. Made this on group camping trip for our chili cook-off. Won 2nd. Some people wanted spicy, so next time I'll add habaneros to theirs. Very thick and tasty. Only had 3 lbs ground beef as someone used some for burgers, but also added a can of great northern beans for contrast and to replace the space of the missing meat. Worked out well and even better the next day on chili-dogs. Will definetely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I'm glad everyone loves this recipe this much considering I just threw it together after making too much spaghetti sauce I added the chilli powder and ta-da Meaty man chili was born! I like my chili powder some think it's too much by my boys love it spicey! Keep enjoying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Metcalfe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States