Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Oh, wow this is really good. I wasn't expecting it to taste like a close version of my grandfather's chili. I've made it twice and the 2nd time hit it right on the noggin. I doubled the kidney beans, the water, and used one can diced tomatoes and one can sauce. I also added 2 cans of Manwich sloppy joe sauce. I used about half cup of chili powder and 2tbls of brown sugar and 2 tbls of mesquite smokey flavor seasoning. With all the changes the chili is still very thick, a man's chili no doubt! Normally, I dont change the recipe so much but this was a great starter that got me back to my deceased grandfather's recipe. We havent had his chili in 12 years! Either way you make it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
good, very good. next time I think that I will add chunks of tomatoes and maybe some jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was the easiest and tastiest Chili. I made it for Super Bowl and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Excellent chili, this is by far the best I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! Sometimes we fix it "as is" sometimes we will cut down he meat and use black beans and corn for a different style. I rarely enjoy chili, but LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia Robert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
RATING THIS AS POSTED! AWESOME!!!! Delious! 3/4c. chili powder & all! Those of you who have changed it even before trying the original, are messin with a good thing. Been looking for something like this for a long time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Excellent dish. Makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I loved this recipe, I made it for a pot luck at work and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Excellent recipe. Family loves this chili on chilly evenings. I do make one change to the recipe and add a can of diced tomatoes to provide more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States