Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Oh, wow this is really good. I wasn't expecting it to taste like a close version of my grandfather's chili. I've made it twice and the 2nd time hit it right on the noggin. I doubled the kidney beans, the water, and used one can diced tomatoes and one can sauce. I also added 2 cans of Manwich sloppy joe sauce. I used about half cup of chili powder and 2tbls of brown sugar and 2 tbls of mesquite smokey flavor seasoning. With all the changes the chili is still very thick, a man's chili no doubt! Normally, I dont change the recipe so much but this was a great starter that got me back to my deceased grandfather's recipe. We havent had his chili in 12 years! Either way you make it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
good, very good. next time I think that I will add chunks of tomatoes and maybe some jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was the easiest and tastiest Chili. I made it for Super Bowl and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Excellent chili, this is by far the best I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! Sometimes we fix it "as is" sometimes we will cut down he meat and use black beans and corn for a different style. I rarely enjoy chili, but LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
RATING THIS AS POSTED! AWESOME!!!! Delious! 3/4c. chili powder & all! Those of you who have changed it even before trying the original, are messin with a good thing. Been looking for something like this for a long time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Excellent dish. Makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I loved this recipe, I made it for a pot luck at work and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Excellent recipe. Family loves this chili on chilly evenings. I do make one change to the recipe and add a can of diced tomatoes to provide more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States