Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
love thick meaty chili. love chili all year round but when it gets cold its gotta be thick and this does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamthaman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I always use this recipe. The only thing that I do different is adding more beans. I love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Love how thick this chili is, even when made w/ 3 lbs. of ground turkey (you need to brown it in a little olive oil) instead of 5 lbs. of beef. Tip for beginning cooks: when a chili recipe includes tomato "sauce", it doesn't mean pasta sauce, but something like Hunt's "tomato sauce" which is basically tomato puree w/ a little salt. In fact, canned tomato puree works just as well. I also love that this recipe used fresh onions, peppers and garlic. I added 2 t. dried marjoram and 1/8 t. cinnamon to compensate for the milder turkey taste. For a potluck, I enjoy making this in a Dutch oven, then mixing up a batch of Southern-style unsweetened cornbread batter, pouring it on top of the chili and baking the whole thing uncovered on the top rack of a 375*F oven until the cornbread is set and lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great chili for football, cold days, or clearing your sinus. Good recipe added more tomato sauce 30oz and a jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Old School

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
A couple of decades ago I had chili at a diner where it was served in a sundae dish with sour cream on top and surrounded by chips! I've been looking for a recipe like this ever since....PERFECT! A few changes:: I left out the green peppers...added 3.75 lbs beef, 2 cans mixed beans, large can of marzano crushed tomatoes, a couple extra garlic cloves, and a cup chianti.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Perfect name for this recipe. The men in our family really loved it. Will make it again (weekly if the guys have their way!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Our favorite chili recipe. Can make as recipe states, or add other peppers to bring it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bill jr.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I thought it was bland and a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe, but I am not a measure-er. I have made it several ways, I have used ground turkey, but I have NEVER used the 5lbs of meat it calls for. I do, however, always use a full can of beans, green pepper and red pepper. I sort of eyeball the chili powder and I add some salt to help season some and then I add some hot sauce (texas petes, tabasco, etc)- a few shakes.... and I too, top mine off with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream and I do also enjoy it served with some nice fresh bakery bread on the side! VERY GOOD basic recipe though! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
it was super easy to make i add a beer and i wish i did not i think it would have been much better with the orignal recipe :( but i will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arwerner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graton, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States