Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
love thick meaty chili. love chili all year round but when it gets cold its gotta be thick and this does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamthaman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I always use this recipe. The only thing that I do different is adding more beans. I love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Love how thick this chili is, even when made w/ 3 lbs. of ground turkey (you need to brown it in a little olive oil) instead of 5 lbs. of beef. Tip for beginning cooks: when a chili recipe includes tomato "sauce", it doesn't mean pasta sauce, but something like Hunt's "tomato sauce" which is basically tomato puree w/ a little salt. In fact, canned tomato puree works just as well. I also love that this recipe used fresh onions, peppers and garlic. I added 2 t. dried marjoram and 1/8 t. cinnamon to compensate for the milder turkey taste. For a potluck, I enjoy making this in a Dutch oven, then mixing up a batch of Southern-style unsweetened cornbread batter, pouring it on top of the chili and baking the whole thing uncovered on the top rack of a 375*F oven until the cornbread is set and lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great chili for football, cold days, or clearing your sinus. Good recipe added more tomato sauce 30oz and a jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Old School

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
A couple of decades ago I had chili at a diner where it was served in a sundae dish with sour cream on top and surrounded by chips! I've been looking for a recipe like this ever since....PERFECT! A few changes:: I left out the green peppers...added 3.75 lbs beef, 2 cans mixed beans, large can of marzano crushed tomatoes, a couple extra garlic cloves, and a cup chianti.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Perfect name for this recipe. The men in our family really loved it. Will make it again (weekly if the guys have their way!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Our favorite chili recipe. Can make as recipe states, or add other peppers to bring it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bill jr.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I thought it was bland and a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe, but I am not a measure-er. I have made it several ways, I have used ground turkey, but I have NEVER used the 5lbs of meat it calls for. I do, however, always use a full can of beans, green pepper and red pepper. I sort of eyeball the chili powder and I add some salt to help season some and then I add some hot sauce (texas petes, tabasco, etc)- a few shakes.... and I too, top mine off with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream and I do also enjoy it served with some nice fresh bakery bread on the side! VERY GOOD basic recipe though! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
it was super easy to make i add a beer and i wish i did not i think it would have been much better with the orignal recipe :( but i will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arwerner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graton, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States