Meaty Thick Man Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I thought this chili was wonderful! I used only 2.5 lbs of meat, and used 3 cans of tomato sauce and added 1 can of chili beans. Those were the only things I changed from the recipe. It was thick and delicious, but next time, I'm going to use some tomato juice to make it a little juicer. I do recommend this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
The reviews help so much...I can't believe how good this recipe was and with the reviews I added extra stuff knowing that it was going to be thick with all that meat....I added an extra jar of pasta sauce, 2 cans of diced tomatoes, extra onions, g. pepper and r peppers.....I served this for a lot of company we had over the weekend and got wonderful reviews...I am actually going out today to make big batches for the freezer.....this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I followed the recommended changes... 1) cut meat portion in half, 2)used chili powder to taste, not the called for amount(ie lots less) 3)added all the veggies I could think of to add... including all colors of bell pepper, mushrooms, zuchini, and 1 can diced tomotoes. 4) topped with cheese and sour cream. SO YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Very good chili. Was a little dry, added 2 cans of diced tomatoes and it came out perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I COULDN'T HAVE MADE ENOUGH!!!! I made it for friends, I expected it to be enough. BUT MAN WAS IT DELICIOUS!!! my husband LOVED it and our friends didn't stop eating, I thought I would have enough to bring to work the following day, but when I got up to get seconds, there was barely a spoon full left. They wiped the 6qt pot clean!!!!!!! This will DEF. be cooked again in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami Shores, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
It was extremely meaty and went perfectly with crusty bread. However, despite using more tomato sauce than was stated in the recipe, I still found it a little dry. I would have liked more sauce especially since I was eating it with bread. Nonetheless, the flavour was awesome. I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is a really good starting point chili. I used half of the meat and my husband still commented on how meaty it was. In his book, meaty = good. I cooked it in a crock pot and as it simmered away I would periodically tasted it. I was very acidic I combated that with a few tbsp of brown sugar. I also used a can of diced tomatos in addition to the tomato sauce. And a green and yellow pepper as that is what I had on hand. Yummy! I will definatly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
GREAT!! i used 2 lbs of meat and more tomatoes and mushrooms and chili seasoning packet recommended from another writer. we put ours in pita pockets and it was yummie!!! wil make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Used crushed tomatoes and two cans of beans. Left out the red pepper and used frozen diced onions and green peppers, salt and pepper. Reduced the amount of meat to half and it was still extremely meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States