Meaty Stuffed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I had a little difficulty separating the onions without tearing, but they were real good! I chopped the insides of the onions and added them to the meat mixture as well as some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Used fresh spinach and bread crumbs... also added corn, green & red peppers. My husband LOVED it, especially with the HOT sausage beef blend. It was a Home Run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We thought these were very good. I have to admit I decreased the recipe by half and then approximated the ingredient amounts. I also added ¼ cup of mozzarella cheese to the mixture and topped it with a little mozzarella cheese the last ten minutes of baking. In addition, I took a short cut and cut the onions in half and microwaved them in a casserole dish with a little water for five minutes. As I’m making this, I kept looking for the garlic and kept thinking I should add some anyway. I didn’t, but it was still very good, but next time I would definitely add some garlic. This dish is a little different from our usual fare and we all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I tried this recipe with vegetarian crumbles and it came out just awful. I can't really blame the recipe for that because with sausage it might be fantastic. Still, found the seasoning a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdmadgirl7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Delicious! Only change I made was, I didn't use near the amount of spinach it called for, and added mushrooms. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
my family loved this it was filling and simple to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela's Cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Soo Good! I substituted the ground beef, and the pork sausage for ground turkey, and hot turkey sausages. Also, I actually didn't boil the onions, and mine all split, so I folded them, stuffed them and then stuck a toothpick in them. I then baked them in the oven, and they turned out perfectly! They were a huge hit! I would use this stuffing to make meatballs, or meatloaf! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by florence.emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This is such a neat idea ! I used textured veg. protein instead of meat and veggie sausage. Turned out very well. Even though the onions may have cracks, it still looks cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is exceptionally good! The stuffing was great and I would use it to stuff other things, maybe peppers or even tomatoes. I used the inside of the onions as a simple side by slicing them up and throwing in some butter, salt and pepper. My boyfriend and his mom loved these too- she even aasked me for the recipe and took the leftovers home with her!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I used slices of fresh bread instead of day old bread, and the first time I made this I forgot to add the egg, but it still turned out wonderful. I took it to a crowded party And was asked for the recipe by at least 7 different people one of which was a caterer who said they were one of the best things she's ever eaten. I'd like to try this recipe with red and green peppers or inside a tomato next time. I've only gotten compliments on this recipe, even a friend of mine who is usually extremely picky & doesn't like to try new things enjoyed them. A little time consuming, but totally worth it. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States