Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is exactly what it says it is, a very meat-tasting sauce. Do NOT expect a traditional/strong or fresh tomato flavor from this recipe. I should have known from the three bouillion and beef broth, but I never made spaghetti sauce before, so now I know. I love the simplicity of this recipe, but I would leave out the bouillion and the beef broth because I prefer spaghetti sauce with a strong/fresh tomato taste. I love that it's a thick sauce, so I think it's a good recipe, just not enough tomato flavor for me. I left out the pepperoni when I made this, and also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Thanks for sharing this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETYBLKGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
THE BEST! I was making meatballs so I made this sauce without the meats. I basically followed the recipe; only changes I made were to add additional 1 tablespoon of minced garlic (as garlic lover), add additional 2 (15 oz) cans of tomato sauce (sauce was too thick), add 1 (28 oz) can of pureed tomatoes (sauce was too thick), add additional ½ teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes (for extra heat), add 2 teaspoons of soy sauce (for flavor and deep color), replace honey for the sugar and add additional 1 tablespoon of honey (for little bit of sweetness). My husband and 8 other guests raved! Easy, simple and delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This definitely gets 5 stars! This is my new meat sauce recipe from now on. I do make some changes: I use italian turkey sausage instead of pork, I omit pepperoni, I use a pack of fresh mushrooms, 1 whole green bell pepper, 1 whole red bell pepper, add a small can of extra tomato sauce, and definitely more garlic. I freeze most of a batch and have super-quick dinners when I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This is a great sauce. So meaty! I used fresh tomatoes from the garden, omitted the mushrooms, added an extra TBS. of sugar, and added 1c. grated zucchini. Oh it is GOOD! It does make a lot. I was able to freeze 3 quart bags of sauce after we ate dinner. The kids love it too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Turn this into a yummy chili: Add a 1/4 cup of chili powder, 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper, an 8 oz. bag of cheddar cheese and 3 tablespoons of hot sauce, and you've got a great chili here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I tried this recipe and was pleasantly surprised. After mixing all of the ingredients, before simmering, the taste was good but not great. 2 hours of cooking dramatically improves this result so don't shortcut yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This really is a great sauce, it was my first attempt at doing it homemade vs. the jar. It wasn't as tomato-ey as I hoped so I didn't find it to be an outstanding sauce for spaghetti, but I froze leftovers and it made an awesome lasagna (my family raved). I am happy with most of the ingredients, but here are some alterations for my tastes. I will only use 1 bay leaf and 1 beef bouillon cube next time, as well as use 3 cans of tomato sauce, 1 can of puree, use red wine in place of beef broth. I doubled the herbs and garlic, because I like a lot of flavor. After reading another review, I may also try adding some soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was pretty good and certainly quite different from my 'stand by' recipe. The only thing I changed was I used brown sugar instead of white. This recipe is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is the best spaghetti sauce I've ever had! This is a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
We will never buy jars or cans of spaghetti sauce again. This was truly outstanding. The only change I made was cooking my veggies and meat separately and adding the tomatoes and spices to the veggies. I then removed some of this sauce to simmer on its own for my vegetarian daughter and mixed the meat into the remainder. The leftovers are in the freezer and I can't wait until we have it again. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States