Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe! Very thick and spicey, almost a cross between spaghetti sauce and chili. I actually had some of the leftover sauce the next day by itself. I did leave out the pepperoni because so many people said it made the sauce greasy, but I think I'll add it next time for some extra kick. This recipe takes a good bit of work, but if you have the time, it's well worth it! Next time I make it, I think I'll use it in a lasagna. It would be perfect for that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eutawville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Yummy! Even my finickly 5yo who doesn't usually like spaghetti liked this one! I halved the recipe and it was just right for our family of 6 (four of those ranging in age from 2yo to 10yo), though my oldest boy was scraping the bowl. Because of that, I wouldn't say that this serves 32 like the recipe states -- more like 10-12 depending on the appetites. The only changes I made were to leave out the mushrooms, red bell pepper and beef bullion/broth (replaced bullion with water). The taste didn't suffer at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I love this spaghetti sauce. It's very hardy and thick. I followed the recipe and it turned out wonderful. It's very easy to double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this sauce was the most amazing one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I'VE FOUND MY NEW SPAGHETTI SAUCE!! What a great sauce. I omitted pepperoni, and the beef cubes only because I didn't have any. I added more of some vegetables to prevent them from going bad. I doubled the recipe, and froze some, and tasted wonderful. Thank you for sharing the meatiest, thickest, and best tasting spaghetti sauce recipe I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
An excellent, thick spaghetti sauce, I made it just as the recipe dictated, and found it *really* spicy hot! So on the next try, I toned it down (omitted the cayenne, downsized the pepper and omitted the pepperoni) and it still made an excellent, flavorful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This sauce is very tasty and thick. I did not add pepperoni or mushrooms because I hate both of them. I also used brown sugar, not white. Delicous and it makes plenty. I freeze it in batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I've made it several times, and everyone asks me for the recipe when I do. I also think the leftover sauce makes great lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I have tried many recipes for spaghetti sauce over the years. I think I have finally found the one that I like and this is definitely it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Stroehlein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I've been making this recipe for 2 years now and am just now getting around to writing a review. This sauce is my favorite and the only spaghetti sauce I make now. I love all the veggies and spices in it. I also love that it makes enough to freeze half for another meal at a later time. Thanks for the great recipe! Oh, and I agree with the other poster that this may not be authentic Italian, but it's still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States