Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
yes i have tried this, but left out pepperoni, to greasy, left out half of the sausage greasy also, but did everything to the tee, inplace of pepperoni and half of the sausage, i used plenty of meaty chopped portabella muchrooms (love shrooms), also i cooked some thin spghetti, and topped it of wit sauce, added some finely grated pharmasan chz and a salad, and somw crusty french garlic bread, yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is almost identical to my recipe that I concocted 40 years ago. All except I don't use celery or carrots, and instead of pork sausage I use Italian sausage. Also I add fresh grated parmesan to the sauce while cooking. For that little bit of sugar, I use brown sugar to cut the acidity in the sauce. For a little spark use a few good sprinkles of chili flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I make a sauce very similar to this and I haven't tried this one, but just wanted to add a little tip when I make mine.... I buy a jar of Classico Bruschetta and add it to the sauce. It has all the flavors I want in my meat sauce and really adds to the taste. Same thing when I make Chilli, I throw in a jar of Salsa as it has all the flavours and textures I want as well as all the other things I put in it. It's a great little trick to make your sauces perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I made this sauce and it is excellent! I doubled the batch and froze the leftovers ( I have already used some of the frozen and it was also excellent - it freezes great!). As a side note - I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I used all dehydrated veggies when I made this and it came out perfectly. I had to add extra water and simmere it longer (obviously) but it is absolutely delicious. My family and I prefer it over the sauce the my MIL makes and that says A LOT since she is possibly the worlds best cook! Thank you so much for posting this. This is my new 'sketti sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Great flavor. I didn't add pepperoni or the beef bouillon cube. I think next time I will leave out the red pepper flakes and use sweet sausage instead of the hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
My family loved this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Best spag sauce! Everyone loves it. I add a bit more sugar to it as I like it sweet but it's good even as is. I have made it multiple times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made an all turkey version of this sauce with ground turkey, turkey italian sausage and turkey pepperoni. It was very meaty and filling. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Loved this sauce. I let it simmer for over 2 hours in my cast iron dutch oven which I find makes a richer, thicker sauce than a regular sauce pot. I didn't add the beef broth, pepperoni or mushrooms and added mild italian sausage instead of ground pork. It was so delicious when it was done, I ate a bowlful since a spoonful wasn't enough!I would classify this sauce as an Arrabbiata sauce due to the addition of the red pepper flakes. It has kick for sure. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Fantastic sauce. Only adjustments I made were: 16 oz. fresh mushrooms instead of 8 oz. canned (sauteed them with the meat and other veggies), used a whole red bell pepper, and omitted the pepperoni. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States