Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This sauce is a nice change of pace from even your everyday meat sauce. It is definitely thick and hearty. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding only 2 beef buillion cubes as suggested by some others. The pepperoni doesn't stand out so for those considering eliminating it for that reason, I would leave it in. I wouldn't use this sauce everytime, but it is certainly a great sauce when you are looking for a hearty meal or need a sauce for lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
fun and easy I omited pepperoni and added 15 oz. more diced tomatos and beef cubes but added one can of broth. Had a do over response from 40 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I really liked this sauce and used it to go with a meatball recipe I found here. My boyfriend didnt care for it all because of the meat but Id make again any day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Too much going on here. This is more like a filling used for meat pies than a sauce, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Excellent sauce. Quite easy to prepare but the favour is awesome. I froze the balance of the sauce in ziploc bag and the freezing enhanced the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Awesome!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Great stuff and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This really is a great sauce, it was my first attempt at doing it homemade vs. the jar. It wasn't as tomato-ey as I hoped so I didn't find it to be an outstanding sauce for spaghetti, but I froze leftovers and it made an awesome lasagna (my family raved). I am happy with most of the ingredients, but here are some alterations for my tastes. I will only use 1 bay leaf and 1 beef bouillon cube next time, as well as use 3 cans of tomato sauce, 1 can of puree, use red wine in place of beef broth. I doubled the herbs and garlic, because I like a lot of flavor. After reading another review, I may also try adding some soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is fairly easy to put together and it was really good, but I felt like it was missing something, not overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
We cook every Wednesday after church and I needed a recipe for spaghetti sauce that would be a hit. Let me tell you everyone loved this recipe! It was a great hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States