Meaty Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This sauce is a nice change of pace from even your everyday meat sauce. It is definitely thick and hearty. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding only 2 beef buillion cubes as suggested by some others. The pepperoni doesn't stand out so for those considering eliminating it for that reason, I would leave it in. I wouldn't use this sauce everytime, but it is certainly a great sauce when you are looking for a hearty meal or need a sauce for lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
fun and easy I omited pepperoni and added 15 oz. more diced tomatos and beef cubes but added one can of broth. Had a do over response from 40 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I really liked this sauce and used it to go with a meatball recipe I found here. My boyfriend didnt care for it all because of the meat but Id make again any day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Too much going on here. This is more like a filling used for meat pies than a sauce, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Excellent sauce. Quite easy to prepare but the favour is awesome. I froze the balance of the sauce in ziploc bag and the freezing enhanced the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Awesome!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Great stuff and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This really is a great sauce, it was my first attempt at doing it homemade vs. the jar. It wasn't as tomato-ey as I hoped so I didn't find it to be an outstanding sauce for spaghetti, but I froze leftovers and it made an awesome lasagna (my family raved). I am happy with most of the ingredients, but here are some alterations for my tastes. I will only use 1 bay leaf and 1 beef bouillon cube next time, as well as use 3 cans of tomato sauce, 1 can of puree, use red wine in place of beef broth. I doubled the herbs and garlic, because I like a lot of flavor. After reading another review, I may also try adding some soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is fairly easy to put together and it was really good, but I felt like it was missing something, not overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
We cook every Wednesday after church and I needed a recipe for spaghetti sauce that would be a hit. Let me tell you everyone loved this recipe! It was a great hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States