Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This recipe is deeeelicious. The andouille really makes it amazing. I used dark meat chicken instead of breasts. The chicken really should go in about halfway through so it is still tender and flavorful. I didn't have file powder and I didn't want to spend $11 to buy a tiny jar of Sassafras salt so I just left it out. I also didn't have any thyme. I added some ground coriander. I cooked some rice in a pot and served it under the jambalaya. I don't like mixing rice with anything soupy because it doesn't save as well. This recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
So so good!!! I make two batches of this at our family cabin trip up north for a crowd. One with the cayenne and one without. People look forward to it! I make it as is and add shrimp at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe is amazing and great to feed guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I omitted the parsley, file powder and ham. I also added double the cayenne pepper accidentally but it was still delicious! We love spicy so this was perfect. I would definitely make again. Oh and I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the ham and used shrimp, rice and okra as other suggested. I reduced the Cayenne Pepper to 1/4 tsp. We aren't into anything too spicy. This was perfect, it made lots and froze some for another day. Didn't use file powder. File powder is ground sassafras leaves used as a thickener. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
first time I have ever made jambalya. This is really good! Next time I make it, I will use a less spicey sausage than andiulle. My mouth is still on fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This has a wonderful array of flavors. I wouldn't add the sausage and chicken until the last 2 hours, because it will dry out the meat if you add as stated. We substituted fresh shrimp in place of the ham, added the last 30 minutes of cook time. I added rice the last hour and half and in order to get it to actually cook I had to add a cup or 2 of chicken broth and then the rice became mushy but it was still worth it. I would recommend making this without the rice and just serve it over cooked rice. We really enjoyed this. I will make it again. Not really spicy for our taste though next time we will up the Cajun spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
For the sausage I used hot Italian sausage, took it out of the casing and browned it at high heat in a skillet before adding to the crock pot. I drained most of the grease and browned the chicken (dashed some garlic, black pepper on the chicken) in the same skillet. Didn't cook either for long, just browned the edges. At the 5 hour mark I turned the crock pot up to high, added one 12 oz. package of quinoa (instead of rice) and a pound of pre-cooked shrimp cut up into small pieces. Quinoa soaks up most of the liquid in about 45 minutes, at which point I served it up. Went easy on the cayenne but nearly doubled the cajun spices as well. Got great reviews from the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This recipe is great! My first time to ever make jambalaya (I'm on a cajun kick lately--recently made etouffe from a recipe found here). The only changes I made was: used crushed tomatoes instead of diced and diced green chilis instead of bell pepper. I mixed everything together in the crock pot the night before and the meat marinated in the tomatoes and season all night and it was magic. So good!! I'm having more for lunch today. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe. Full of flavor, we used hot sausage and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States