Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe with all the ingredients except: I used fresh shrimp (adding the last 30 minutes) instead of ham, and I used Old Bay Seasoning in places of the file. WOW!!! Perfect heat with the andouille and cayenne pepper! Served over rice (or without), it's just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was fantastic! I added cooked shrimp the last hour And did not use ham. I stirred in brown rice the last hour which absorbed the excess liquid. I didn't have file powder either. I used two cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes. I did everything else as directed in recipe. The jambalaya turned out very yummy. Husband and I liked the spice. Just right for us. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsusalis
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is delicious and spicy! I actually swapped the ham for frozen shrimp and served it with Quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This recipe is deeeelicious. The andouille really makes it amazing. I used dark meat chicken instead of breasts. The chicken really should go in about halfway through so it is still tender and flavorful. I didn't have file powder and I didn't want to spend $11 to buy a tiny jar of Sassafras salt so I just left it out. I also didn't have any thyme. I added some ground coriander. I cooked some rice in a pot and served it under the jambalaya. I don't like mixing rice with anything soupy because it doesn't save as well. This recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
So so good!!! I make two batches of this at our family cabin trip up north for a crowd. One with the cayenne and one without. People look forward to it! I make it as is and add shrimp at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe is amazing and great to feed guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I omitted the parsley, file powder and ham. I also added double the cayenne pepper accidentally but it was still delicious! We love spicy so this was perfect. I would definitely make again. Oh and I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the ham and used shrimp, rice and okra as other suggested. I reduced the Cayenne Pepper to 1/4 tsp. We aren't into anything too spicy. This was perfect, it made lots and froze some for another day. Didn't use file powder. File powder is ground sassafras leaves used as a thickener. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
first time I have ever made jambalya. This is really good! Next time I make it, I will use a less spicey sausage than andiulle. My mouth is still on fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This has a wonderful array of flavors. I wouldn't add the sausage and chicken until the last 2 hours, because it will dry out the meat if you add as stated. We substituted fresh shrimp in place of the ham, added the last 30 minutes of cook time. I added rice the last hour and half and in order to get it to actually cook I had to add a cup or 2 of chicken broth and then the rice became mushy but it was still worth it. I would recommend making this without the rice and just serve it over cooked rice. We really enjoyed this. I will make it again. Not really spicy for our taste though next time we will up the Cajun spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States