Meaty 'Cuban Black Bean' Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
Excellent starter recipe! I used chicken thighs instead of breasts for a heartier poultry to match the robustness of the sausage. I also allowed the liquid to reduce by half to create a chili-like dish. Canned beans can be used to speed up the recipe but don't skimp on simmering time to allow the sage and bay leaves to do their jobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
This was really tasty over rice, as the author suggested. I found that the addition of a little hot sauce was just the perfect touch. This one is definitely a favorite around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Really enjoyed this one and intend to make it many times now that the weather is getting cooler. Great taste and my husband, who is such a picky eater (argh) LOVED it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
The soup was a very hearty dish. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Kroeker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
It is a great recipe for a rainy day. The taste is great. We also added 1 tsp. salt and 2 tsp. granulated garlic which enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Overall very good. I did add salt and increased the spices. Topped with lime fresca (lime zest and sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sedonabelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
this is a very easy recipe but lacks flavor and spice. I used canned black beans to save time with soaking overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Burbul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
This was an okay recipe. I ended up adding alot of spices because I found it bland. I think I'll hang with my old recipe for black bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I used canned black beans and Andouille sausage as that's what I had on hand. It's pretty good made as written but I threw in a good pinch of Adobo seasoning and also some fresh cilantro for extra flavor. Next time I'll add a fresh jalapeno or two. Thanks, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Unappealing look to it. Definitely not a visually appealing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States