Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I give this one 4 stars! 5 for flavor, minus 1 for not holding together as well. Didn't bother me or my family enough not to say "It's a keeper!". I made it exactly as directed... except I didn't have any steak sauce so I used BBQ sauce. Perfect flavor. I love the fact that you use oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Wonderful. I halved the recipe and put the ketchup on top instead of mixing it in and I added a small clove of minced garlic. Fantastic! Only 4 stars because my family still likes my usual recipe better. I was out of bread crumbs and so found this. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I was snowed in and didn't have any tomato soup. I used a can of Cream of Mushroom soup instead. The taste was delicious. Mmmm Mmmmm Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is more like a 4.5 rating. Not quite a 5 because I had to make modifications. I cut this recipe in half, omitted the tomato soup and added salt and pepper. Even so it was a bit runny but cooked great. It was crumbly coming out of the pan, however. I liked the chewiness of the oatmeal but will either reduce the amount by about a third or substitute bread crumbs next time to see how that works. This is a really "classic" meatloaf taste and might be even better with a bit of chopped green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was delicious! I was curious to try this as my mom used to make meatloaf with oats all the time. I was out of steak sauce, so I subbed in Worcestershirer instead. Moist and full of flavor - I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
It had good flavor but it fell apart...was very mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Great!! used dry onion soup mix since i didnt have Onions on hand and used italian bread crumbs instead of oats. It was very moist and full of flavor. I did cook it bout 20 minutes longer than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I'm making this meatloaf for dinner tonight. I just wanted to give a tip on meatloaf. My grandma took metal loaf pans, and drilled a few wholes in the sides of them along the bottom of the pan. When she cooks meatloaf, she puts the loaf pan inside a cake pan, and a lot of the grease drains out of the pan. This keeps it from crumbling, and also makes it a lot healthier! It still tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I don't know what went wrong but this came out like mush. I reviewed the ingredients and did everything as the recipe said. I'm stumpted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
The flavor is delicious, but the meatloaf is very mushy, this is my official filling for stuffed peppers and stuffed cabbage rolls. ---cook the meatloaf,cool, divide it up in 1/4 c mounds on a cookie sheet,(it's easier to figure out portions for future use), freeze them for an hour, divide into what ever portions you would need for one meal of stuffed peppers or cabbage,store in a zip lock in the freezer. To use as filling, defrost, add cooked rice to defrosted meatloaf to make stuffing.It is perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States