Meatloaf with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This meatloaf was moist and delicous. We all loved it. I cut the recipe in half and wished I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Very flavorful! Delicious sauce - we put it on mashed potatoes as a side dish & it made a wonderful gravy. I decreased the bread crumbs by about 1/3 cup - and it did take about half an hour longer to cook than shown on the recipe. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This was something different from what I usually make....the "Rotel" meatloaf recipe. It was great for something different. I think I may have needed to add more pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Outstanding! Such a wonderful change of pace from the *sweeter* meatloaves I tend to make. This held together wonderfully and the flavor was out of this world. The taste reminded us of a mix between Salisbury Steak and Beef Stroganoff. I left out the celery and dill weed. I also cut down the bread crumbs to about 3/4 cup. This helped to keep it from drying out. My meatloaf was done in 45 minutes. So, I topped it with the sauce and baked it for another 10 minutes. I will make this again and again! Thanks, TRAVLEE! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This was pretty good, I left out the dill, just don't like it, and used garlic pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Is the mother of invention sprouted sometimes from desperation?? lol. I found myself w/out onion soup mix for this recipe...so going through my packets I found a seasoning packet from a box of stovetop stuffing (in which I had used the bread crumbs for another recipe). This was the only change to the meatloaf recipe. WE LOVED IT! What a nice variation from having to use ketchup or tomato sauce, etc. Will be a 'for sure' rotation in our dinner menus! Thanks for sharing this recipe w/us! :) The gravy was 'icing on the cake'..very creamy and yummy on mashed potatoes and the meatloaf!! Ok, I'll stop gushing now lol. (honestly the submitter and I are NOT related lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This was the best meatloaf I have ever made, but I did make a few changes. First of all, I didn't use dip, I used a half cup sour cream and added a packet of beefy onion soup mix. Also, I made my own gravy because my family prefers beef gravy. It was very moist and flavorful and I will be making it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This recipe is definitely for the brave. The flavors are bold and very strong. I will be making some changes next time I make this dish because the flavor of the onion dip was to. overpowering; 4 oz. of onion dip, divided with 4 oz, of sour cream, divided. I will also be adding 1/4 cup of milk to the gravy to thin it some. Other than some tweaking, this recipe is a nice change from an ordinary meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I followed the other reviewers ,used beefy onion soup mix and out with the dill. Lost the recipie and had to find it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
dynamite...the only meatloaf i have EVER mildly liked and i loved it! eating the leftovers today for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States