Meatloaf with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This meatloaf was moist and delicous. We all loved it. I cut the recipe in half and wished I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Very flavorful! Delicious sauce - we put it on mashed potatoes as a side dish & it made a wonderful gravy. I decreased the bread crumbs by about 1/3 cup - and it did take about half an hour longer to cook than shown on the recipe. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This was something different from what I usually make....the "Rotel" meatloaf recipe. It was great for something different. I think I may have needed to add more pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Outstanding! Such a wonderful change of pace from the *sweeter* meatloaves I tend to make. This held together wonderfully and the flavor was out of this world. The taste reminded us of a mix between Salisbury Steak and Beef Stroganoff. I left out the celery and dill weed. I also cut down the bread crumbs to about 3/4 cup. This helped to keep it from drying out. My meatloaf was done in 45 minutes. So, I topped it with the sauce and baked it for another 10 minutes. I will make this again and again! Thanks, TRAVLEE! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This was pretty good, I left out the dill, just don't like it, and used garlic pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Is the mother of invention sprouted sometimes from desperation?? lol. I found myself w/out onion soup mix for this recipe...so going through my packets I found a seasoning packet from a box of stovetop stuffing (in which I had used the bread crumbs for another recipe). This was the only change to the meatloaf recipe. WE LOVED IT! What a nice variation from having to use ketchup or tomato sauce, etc. Will be a 'for sure' rotation in our dinner menus! Thanks for sharing this recipe w/us! :) The gravy was 'icing on the cake'..very creamy and yummy on mashed potatoes and the meatloaf!! Ok, I'll stop gushing now lol. (honestly the submitter and I are NOT related lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This was the best meatloaf I have ever made, but I did make a few changes. First of all, I didn't use dip, I used a half cup sour cream and added a packet of beefy onion soup mix. Also, I made my own gravy because my family prefers beef gravy. It was very moist and flavorful and I will be making it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This recipe is definitely for the brave. The flavors are bold and very strong. I will be making some changes next time I make this dish because the flavor of the onion dip was to. overpowering; 4 oz. of onion dip, divided with 4 oz, of sour cream, divided. I will also be adding 1/4 cup of milk to the gravy to thin it some. Other than some tweaking, this recipe is a nice change from an ordinary meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I followed the other reviewers ,used beefy onion soup mix and out with the dill. Lost the recipie and had to find it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
dynamite...the only meatloaf i have EVER mildly liked and i loved it! eating the leftovers today for lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States