Meatloaf with a Ranch Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Very good meatloaf and leftovers were great. I agree with past reviewers, the sauce is so yummy double up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This meat loaf was absolutely fantastic!! I made it last night and had the leftovers for lunch today. The only thing I might change is making more of the sauce for the drizzle once the meat loaf is cut. That sauce is so good that my husband and I decided that we'll try it as a marinade soon. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micpsy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Very moist meatloaf! Instead of the usual loaf pan (and to stretch it out) i spread it into a 13x9 casserole dish - and cooked it for 40 minutes. I also used 1# lean ground beef & 19 oz lean ground turkey - couldn't tell the difference! Love the added ranch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Metcalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
The flavor was very good but the texture was blah. It was too soft. I followed the recipe to a T. Sorry, I try to rate recipes fairly and this did not do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bland Huerta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I rarely vary from my tried and true sage, bell peppers and onions based family recipe but wanted something different today. I feel bad about rating this because I made so many changes. It’s one of those days I used what I had, and based it loosely on some recipe from some unfortunate submitter on AR. (Sorry, Chihuahua Girl) You know..the kind of dishes that never can be duplicated again, no matter how good it turns out? And mine turned out GREAT! I was into Southwestern but leary of it tasting like taco meat, as one review of a SW style recipe, mentioned. Wanted it more like my regular sage meatloaf (the sage addition is why I zeroed in on this recipe among the many) with a SW flare. Used real onions and garlic instead of powders. Used bell pepper (hark back to family recipe) and some pickled jalapenos for a SW kick…but still not a taco/salsa based flavor. For filler I used torn, stale hard rolls I had (family recipe stuff….I like torn stale bread for the texture instead of bread crumbs) and used a Salsa Ranch salad dressing I had, (oops…I did sneak salsa in there) instead of the dry mix. Omitted the milk because the dressing was already liquid. I made the sauce as written with V8 and doubled it. There’s some ketchup in my family recipe but I never put ketchup on top of it, didn’t bake any of the sauce on top of this either. This sauce was a nice compliment to the ranch flavor. Surprising how the sweet sauce toned down my SW spiceiness without being sour cream-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My teens all loved this recipe! My husband who doesn't like meatloaf loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by g5club

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chuluota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Everyone loved this when I made it!! The only thing I did differently was to add about 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar to the sauce to add some tang to it; it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Yummy,I was looking for a good meatloaf recipe,and now i found it.......Taste even better the next day. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kpresto
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I made this meatloaf, following the recipe to the letter. I loved the flavor and the directions were great. Next time I will cut the breadcrumbs by half, and instead of using onion powder, will substitute a finely chopped onion. I am adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpresto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States