Meatloaf in a Mug Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Genius! I am very surprised how well this worked and I wasn't going to say anything if it didn't but I will definitely do this again. First, if it would work in a mug I thought why not a small baking dish. (corningware)I was worried about the fat at the bottom so I made an elevation platform punched with holes out of a stiff curved paper plate, but will be looking to replace that with something from BBB maybe. (not metal) All the fat went to the bottom and I just lifted the loaf out easily. Changes I made: 1 lb of chuck, rather than deal with chopping onion, grn pepper, using ketchup, this is supposed to be easy and fast so I borrowed from another recipe here and added a half a small jar of medium salsa (which has all those things in it)and an egg to the mixture. Everything else was the same, total cooking time was 9 minutes on 70%, 4 minutes in broiler to get the perfect bark on top and a splash more of salsa. I saved at least an hour and it is delicious, firm and sliceable. Thanks grl2005!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spolley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
5 stars for taste, simplicity, single-serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by cathytress
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is an awesome recipe that can be altered and customized as needed. I love it!!! Today I used ground turkey, 1 TBS Fiber One cereal (ground), 2 TBS milk, 1 TBS Lipton Beefy Onion soup, and chopped, fresh parsley. After cooking, I put a bit of ketchup on top but gravy would work nicely too. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathytress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have a picky eater at home and since we are a soccer family there is no time to make long cooking meals. This meal was ideal and when adding some of my son's favorite flavors (BBQ sauce and spanish seasoning), made this dinner a big hit. I agree with another who reviewed; I added croutons (sea salt and pepper flavor) to the bread mixture. FYI: We put the BBQ sauce on when there was a minute left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Why have we been spending so much time using the oven for a one of our favorites? This is quick and is as good as some of my favorite oven dishes. It can be altered and tweaked with any flavored you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Amazing! Who knew?! I topped mine off with a squeeze of ketchup and it made my night! This simple recipe can be customized for any taste. I've tried it several times and added a little crushed red pepper flakes, or some minced white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjduck85

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Awesome recipe! It actually made me like meatloaf. I added a little oregano and extra onions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is great! Like most reviews, I adjusted some spices to my liking/availability. It's like eating a home cooked meal without waiting. I was nervous about cooking ground beef in the microwave but it turned out ok, I used 4:30 minutes and it was plenty. A great dinner when in a time crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaynieElle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I tried this recipe twice, and both times I was impressed by the flavor, but the process was unappetizing, as was the remaining fat in the mug. I will not make it again, though I think it is a really good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Cloud Easter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Thank you for this recipe! No, it doesn't have the same taste or texture as if you bake it--but the point is you don't have time to bake it and you have some thawed hamburger in the fridge or maybe you don't need a whole meatloaf. I doubled the recipe, adding some grated carrot, made two mini loaves and cooked on a microwave safe plate. My son gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States