Meatloaf Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I had plain breadcrumbs so I had to season my own with homemade italian seasoning. I used about a tablespoon. I added 1 tablespoon worchestershire to the beaten eggs, upped the garlic powder to a teaspoon and a half, eliminated the salt and I used black forest ham. I had a heck of a time rolling this, even with the butcher paper. I did get it rolled and smushed back together, but it came apart a little in the baking process. I think if I make this again, I'll let the meat mixture sit fifteen minutes before rolling or chill it an hour or something. It's in the oven now (and smells AMAZING) so I'll update how the family liked it once they've tried it. EDITED: Even as ugly as it came out, it was really tasty. The whole family LOVED it. This one's a keeper. I just have to practice rolling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I thought this recipe turned out wonderfully, although I added some things! I added a bit of ketchup and mustard, along with brown sugar and a touch of balsamic vinaigrette. I covered it for half of the cook time with foil-it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I love meatloaf and infact i would eat it more, but my husband doesnt care for it. Well when i saw cheese in this recipe, i figured hey thats what he likes! Put cheese in anything and he will eat it... He did. Now seriously, i personally thought this was a great recipe. Was not hard at all to make. The taste was excellent. Very differnt and very satisfing. What I might do next time is change the way it is cooked. I did cook it for 2 hours and my center was still way to pink. Maybe if you layer it in a square 9x9 or 8x8. I am not sure, but there has to be a better way. 2 hours is way too much. I really enjoyed eating it though. The next night I heated it up and made sandwiches. We put pickles and mayo on whole wheat bread and it was almost like a burger! This is a keeper, except for the way it is cook, i will come up with a plan for next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOJOBEECH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I gave this 5 stars (this is in comparison to other meatloafs, not recipes in general). It was excellent (and I don't even like meatloaf!), and sooo fast & easy to put together. I baked it for an hour- the top and ends were perfectly done, but inside was a little pink. Next time I'll do as someone suggested and cover with tin foil about 45 minutes in, then bake another 25 minutes. A definate keeper- my husband loved it too! Looking forward to the left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My husband LOVED this recipe - said "This one's a keeper!" I took "PotatoFreak's" suggestion & used multiple cheeses & pepperoni on the inside. Afterplacing the meatloaf in the pan, I wrapped it in bacon, baked for 1hr & 10 minutes covered, then 20 minutes uncovered. Moist & perfect! Thank you so much for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSmithRN04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I did this a little differently but with excellent results! I stuffed it with american, mozzerella and pepperoni. Topped it with strips of bacon and a ketchup, brown sugar, mustard sauce. I cooked it covered for an hour and 10 minutes and uncovered for 20. It was moist and wonderful! I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was great! My family loved it! I also added mozzerella cheese to mine. I baked it for 45 minutes covered in foil, and another 45min. w/out. Turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I normally use ground turkey when making a meatloaf, so I was a little concerned when I read some of the reviews stating that the dish turned out dry. I only used one egg, mozarella cheese in lieu of provolone and I covered the loaf with a can of cream of mushroom soup. This kept it very moist and my husband and kids really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Must use a meat thermometer. I took the "advice" of other reviewers and bumped the cooking time up by 20-30 minutes. BIG MISTAKE. I really should have used a thermometer, but did not have one at the time. More cooking time resulted in an overdone dry loaf. Im sure it would have been great otherwise. Something must have been wrong with the other reviewers ovens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Yummy, this was first rate. I unfortunately live across the road from a Deli. So on getting some ham I pondered in pancetta might be better so the bloke behind the counter convinced me to take some and try it. So put both in, also had a dribble of truffle oil left in the bottle - in she went. As that chap on the t.v. says, "It kicked it to the next level." In terms of expense too haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States