Meatloaf Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I had plain breadcrumbs so I had to season my own with homemade italian seasoning. I used about a tablespoon. I added 1 tablespoon worchestershire to the beaten eggs, upped the garlic powder to a teaspoon and a half, eliminated the salt and I used black forest ham. I had a heck of a time rolling this, even with the butcher paper. I did get it rolled and smushed back together, but it came apart a little in the baking process. I think if I make this again, I'll let the meat mixture sit fifteen minutes before rolling or chill it an hour or something. It's in the oven now (and smells AMAZING) so I'll update how the family liked it once they've tried it. EDITED: Even as ugly as it came out, it was really tasty. The whole family LOVED it. This one's a keeper. I just have to practice rolling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I have been making this years - I use VA smoked ham and baby swiss, still adding the ketchup on top. Takes too long to cook in a loof pan, so put the meatloaf log into a 9x13, tent with foil for 45min and then remove foil for 25-30 min.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
My family would have given this a five star rating, but they all agree that it needs some sort of gravy or topping to complete the taste. I also found that the wax paper only got in the way. It started to rip when I picked it up, so I had to throw the wax paper away and simply just roll it as is. No problem. This is a very nice meatloaf and a different way to make it, but I will make a brown gravy to serve with it the next time that I make it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I'm not a big fan of meatloaf but this is a really good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Manuele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
A good twist on meat loaf. I actually used lean ground elk and didn't tweak anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
WHOLE FAMILY FAVORITE!!!!! Make this one often! We used LOTS of shredded cheese the second time- even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
The only change I made is using some fresh garlic rather then powdered. We all enjoyed it and I must admit it makes great cold meatloaf sandwiches, which is often the only reason I will cook a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Everyone loved this recipe!! Nice and moist. Added sauce to the top for the last 15 minutes like suggested. The tip with putting a slice of bread on the bottom of the loaf pan was genius and worked wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
My husband made this for dinner last night, and while I am not a meatloaf fan (usually can't stand the stuff) this was a nice recipe. The only change my husband made was to use Swiss cheese, instead of the Provolone. Even our picky kids and my picky mother-in-law liked it. The big thing I liked about it is that it didn't have the ever-present ketchup topping. Frankly, if I want a hamburger, I'll eat a hamburger. This was a nice combination of flavors in its own right. We'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States