Meatless Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I've been making this for years, it's a huge hit at my house. My changes: pretend ground beef in place of tofu; a nutty, wild rice instead of white; and I add some feta. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
These were really delicious and very flavorful! I used 2/3c. of cooked barley instead of the rice and added a touch of cumin (1/2 tsp.) along with the other spices in the mushroom / tofu mix. I also used 4 red peppers, cut lengthwise and seeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I made five recipes' worth for our Wednesday finals week dinner in my dorm. Even the people on my floor who scarcely eat anything but meat loved this recipe. And, though simple, the tomato garlic sauce that accompanied it was also a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Fantastic recipe! My family really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
I used meatless crumbles in place of the tofu and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
And also here... my German opinion to German-American veggie cooking... good idea... did that as well - my mum's stuffed peppers go without the rice, only ground beef and she serves them with potatoes. But as I am vegetarian I altered the recipe and stuff them with rice an lentils (needs some adjustments in the flavouring... if you want to stay closer to the original you are better off with the rice/tofu!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This recipe had a good flavor, but I don't think tofu was the best filling choice. I would probably go with the soy "ground meat" or textured veggie protein next time. The sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was wonderful stuffed pepper. Reading other reviews, made a few adjustments to the recipe: *Sautéed onions etc with curry powder *Used aburaage tofu (fried pouch tofu) cut in small slivers, for more substantial, crunchy consistency *Boiled the peppers 2 minutes to soften, before filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I used red peppers, which went very well with the sauce. I found the filling to be a little dull. Maybe some cheese or increasing the seasonings would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I had never had tofu before so this was a nice dish to first try it in. But in the end, I played with this dish some. (1) Added lemon pepper, salt, pepper, parsley, and more paprika & parsley. (2) Topped the stuffed peppers with cheddar cheese. (3) Omitted tomatoes (just our choice.) and poured cooking wine in bottom of sprayed down pan. --- My 3 teenagers LOVED it! My husband & I thought it needed something a little more. (Cheese?) --- I WILL make this dish again for my teenagers. Perhaps with some toying I'll grow to love this dish as good as my teenagers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States