Meatless Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This recipe had a good flavor, but I don't think tofu was the best filling choice. I would probably go with the soy "ground meat" or textured veggie protein next time. The sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I too felt this recipe was on the bland side. Thankfully, I added a lot more crushed tomatos than the recipe called for; I couldn't help myself -I had to mix some in with the stuffing. Thank goodness I did -it was the only thing that made the peppers edible. Next time I will go with a traditional tomato/onion/rice type stuffed pepper mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I had never had tofu before so this was a nice dish to first try it in. But in the end, I played with this dish some. (1) Added lemon pepper, salt, pepper, parsley, and more paprika & parsley. (2) Topped the stuffed peppers with cheddar cheese. (3) Omitted tomatoes (just our choice.) and poured cooking wine in bottom of sprayed down pan. --- My 3 teenagers LOVED it! My husband & I thought it needed something a little more. (Cheese?) --- I WILL make this dish again for my teenagers. Perhaps with some toying I'll grow to love this dish as good as my teenagers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
And also here... my German opinion to German-American veggie cooking... good idea... did that as well - my mum's stuffed peppers go without the rice, only ground beef and she serves them with potatoes. But as I am vegetarian I altered the recipe and stuff them with rice an lentils (needs some adjustments in the flavouring... if you want to stay closer to the original you are better off with the rice/tofu!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I wanted to like this recipe, I really did. But I found it much too bland. If I ever do make this again, I will follow some of the other reviewer's suggestions and add some other ingredients to give this dish more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I used red peppers, which went very well with the sauce. I found the filling to be a little dull. Maybe some cheese or increasing the seasonings would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
I used meatless crumbles in place of the tofu and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I made five recipes' worth for our Wednesday finals week dinner in my dorm. Even the people on my floor who scarcely eat anything but meat loved this recipe. And, though simple, the tomato garlic sauce that accompanied it was also a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This recipe didn't work. Like other reviewers, I thought the filling was bland and had an unpleasant texture. I added feta on the top before baking but it wasn't much help. The whole thing reminded me and my girlfriend of eating ricotta cheese, but neither of us like ricotta. I think the problem comes from the misuse of tofu. In situations like this, it tends to respond more like a dairy free (and taste free) cheese than as a meat replacer. You could still use it to add protein to the dish, but I might up the amount of rice and decrease the tofu in the mix. I would also add more seasoning of some kind or another. I suspect that using seasoned ground beef in place of tofu would also solve these problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Added some feta for some added flavor and it was very yummy. Maybe cut back a bit on the amounts f liquids added, as they tend to be a bit runny. Will be making again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States