Meatless Mincemeat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
When my sister-in-law asked that I bring a mincemeat pie for Thanksgiving I thought..ewwww! I love to cook and bake, so I was determined not to just purchase pre-made pie filling. I saw this recipe, followed it exactly, added some dried cranberries. It was a hit, I'm sure this will be one of my new requests every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I don't know what mincemeat pie is supposed to taste like - it isn't a dish that was made in my family. But hubby requested that I try one, & I chose this recipe. I used ready-made pie crust, and followed recipe using rum but also mixing in 1/2 cup each golden raisins & sweetened dried cranberries. For the top pie crust, I used a Linzer cookie cutter to make 1 decorative cutout, brushed with milk, & baked. After 30 minutes, we brushed the top crust with beaten egg & dusted with sanding sugar. Pie was lovely & hubby loved it! Obviously, a good recipe with winning results on my first try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a good recipe for dressing up premade filling. Although I would leave out the sugar, it was too sweet in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe turned out great. Make sure you do the egg wash on top of the crust. It makes such a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is my first mince pie. I used Nonesuch mincemeat (which isn't meatless!) and cut the sugar in half (and could have omitted it). I figured I'd use my deep dish pie pan so I used 4 small apples and the whole 27 ounce jar of mincemeat. After I'd let it chill overnight I discovered that even with the extra filling it was too little for the deeper pan. I used a regular pie pan and it was fine. I'm not sure how it would have worked with only 18 ounces of mince and 2 apples, though! I also added about 1/4 cup of flour, as the filling had a lot of liquid. It went over surprisingly well. A very tasty pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Absolutely wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was simple and delicious. The best mincemeat pie ever. My family loved it. The recipe made more than I needed for 1 pie so I used the leftovers and made a country tart and topped the mincemeat with sliced canned pear and that was delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yorkshirepudding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great recipe! I had never made mincemeat tarts, but they turned out great for my first time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The pie made Gram LTH's 83rd b-day! She said it was just like the mincemeat pie she enjoyed in her childhood. I couldn't bring myself to try it, so I can't speak from my experience, but all of those that ate it said it was great! I followed the recipe to a *t*, as I had no clue what mincemeat pie was supposed to be like! TY for making Gram LTH's bday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A very good recipe, so much better than store bought. I suggest tasting the filling before adding the sugar because I felt it was just right without the extra sugar. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States