Meatless Mincemeat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Just like I remember from my childhood! I added 1/3 cup of orange peel, brushed the crust with butter and sprinkled w/sugar. The pie was a little over-stuffed, so I might use slightly less filling next time -- eat the rest w/o crust! Thanks for this yummy, hard-to-find recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this for Christmas and everyone loved it, great recipe and easy, like the other reviews..i did not add the suger and it turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A very good recipe, so much better than store bought. I suggest tasting the filling before adding the sugar because I felt it was just right without the extra sugar. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jhfellows
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
simple to make! Though, the brown sugar made it a little too sweet, overall it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Actually I don't like mincemeat pie but I made it for my sister and dad who love it. I added a tsp of apple pie spice to it and it went over just great. They said it tastes just like it should. I guess it can depend on the brand of mincemeat you use. I used Crosse & Blackwell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was simple and delicious. The best mincemeat pie ever. My family loved it. The recipe made more than I needed for 1 pie so I used the leftovers and made a country tart and topped the mincemeat with sliced canned pear and that was delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yorkshirepudding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is my first mince pie. I used Nonesuch mincemeat (which isn't meatless!) and cut the sugar in half (and could have omitted it). I figured I'd use my deep dish pie pan so I used 4 small apples and the whole 27 ounce jar of mincemeat. After I'd let it chill overnight I discovered that even with the extra filling it was too little for the deeper pan. I used a regular pie pan and it was fine. I'm not sure how it would have worked with only 18 ounces of mince and 2 apples, though! I also added about 1/4 cup of flour, as the filling had a lot of liquid. It went over surprisingly well. A very tasty pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I think mincemeat is something that you have to be in the mood for. No one else here in my house ever eats mincemeat, so I had this pie all to myself! It was a good winter pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Great recipe for Mincemeat tarts! The best I've ever eaten by far! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is sensational! I would never think of putting nuts in a mincemeat pie! Thank you for your inspiration and also for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie styles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oldham, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States