Meatless Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I was more than pleasantly surprised at my family's reaction to this recipe-- they loved it! I followed the recipe as written with the result being a bit dry (and I thought a bit salty, but no one else did), which overall pleased everyone as it wasn't greasy or mushy-- just flavorful. My one additional contribution to this was to make an beef/onion gravy using chopped onions fried in butter with beef boullion, etc. I then served it with mashed potatoes and put gravy over both the meat and potatoes. Turned out to be just right. If/when we want meat(less)loaf again, this will be the "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Instead of buying the crumbles I cooked garden burgers and crumbled them myself. The taste is much better. Also to make everything stick together better I used Sweet Onion BBQ sauce until I got the consistency that I wanted. My wife is a vegetarian and she said this was the best recipe for meatless loaf she has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I don't consider beef and onion dry soup mix as vegetarian. So i used a dry onion soup mix without any meat products instead. It made a great meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniffer Graham
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I probably haven't had meatloaf in over 20 years. I don't know why I never tried making a veggie meatloaf before but I am glad I finally did. This was super tasty. I doubled everything except the soup mix and I topped it with ketchup mixed with a little bit of mustard and brown sugar. I also added sautéed onions and little water to the mixture to get the right consistency. I can see being able to easily change up the recipe for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Husband and I love this! We first tried it attempting a diet, but it was soooo good we ended up eating way too much of it. I like it just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnrichar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is the best vegetarian meatloaf recipe I've ever tried. It didn't come out soggy, dry, or hard like other recipes I've used. I sauteed half of an onion and I added a "Meatloaf Flavoring" packet instead of the Onion Soup. I won't add the seasoning packet next time, it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Loved this recipe. As a vegetarian I have tried so many "meat" loaf recipes hoping to find one that would work for special occasions. Well, I finally found one. This worked out great. I served it with mashed potatoes, gravy and brussel sprouts. It was one of the best meals I have made in a long time!! Thank you for ending my search!!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lohewitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was a wonderful recipe. I added shiitake mushrooms which added a meaty taste. Used the left overs as a meat substitute in tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We did not care for this recipe. It was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was easy to make, and not a bad substitute for real meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmACee1203

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States