Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Delicious!! Instead of tofu, I used about 2 cups of TVP. Nobody even noticed that the TVP wasn't ground beef! Instead of all black beans, I used kidney, great northern, black, and pinto beans to give it a variety of color, texture and flavor. I also added some frozen corn to give it a little something extra. This is a delicious recipe and I will definitley use it again! If I am making it for just my husband and me, I will atleast halve this recipe as it makes alot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Absolutely delicious - REALLY spicy, the mention of guacamole and sour cream is not really a suggestion. The chili had a great full body and did not seem too watery. A couple minor changes/substitutions I made - 1/2 less onion, 1/2 T of red pepper powder instead of Tabasco (I was out), 1 can of kidney beans instead of black beans (again, I was out). Even my carnivorous fiancee approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This is the best chili I've ever had. As a recently new vegetarian I was surprised as the tofu tastes just like meat! You'd never miss the meat. My carnivorous boyfriend loved it. I halved the recipe and it easily could of fed 6, so it makes A LOT! I'm not the biggest chili fan but I never thought to serve it with nachos, guacumoule, sour cream and cheese, a la Mexican style. Great idea and I'll totally make this one regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Family and friends loved this chili!! I substituted Morning Star Vegetable Crumbles (it looks like pre-cooked hamburger) for the tofu and nobody knew that it was a vegetarian dish. Absolutely tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
this recipe was really tasty! i cut back on the chili powder a bit to suit our tastes. the only problem i had was that it got a bit soupy by the end of cook time - so i added about 1 cup of cornstarch to thicken it up and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This recipe was flavourful and so tasty. I liked the combination of the different spices. I nixed the tofu and added a can of chickpeas and corn - it added a very good texture to the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Yummy! We will never go back to regular chili again. I tried this recipe today for the first time and it seemed like a lot of food so I halved it and even then it almost filled my regular size slow cooker. It was awesome....didn't miss the meat at all. We don't like chili too spicy so we used less than half of the chili and hot sauce that was called for. I would recommend this to anyone, vegetarian or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
My family loved this recipe! I used YVES ground tofu instead of the package firm tofu and also added one hot jalapeno. WOW..EXCELLENT DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very Good. I used pinto and kidney instead of black and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was great! I've been looking for a slow cooker vegetarian chili for awhile. The only changes I made were using 2 cans of black beans, and 2 cans of white beans (what was in the pantry). I also eliminated the tabasco sauce and chili powder (not usually in a college student's pantry) and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States