Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have tried dozens of vegetarian chili and this is by far my favorite. I substitute 2 of the 4 cans of black beans with black beans in a cumin chili type sauce. I use 2 cans of diced tomatoes with (hot) green chilies instead of crushed tomatoes for extra zip. I also use one less onion and pepper and substitute the tofu with soy burger crumbles. Delicious! And plenty of leftover's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltomczak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was a bust. I'm not sure why but it just wasn't anything like chili it was just a pot of beans. I did follow the recipe exactly. Not going to be on my veggie rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very flavorful. Mildly spicy. Watch the quantity--it comfortably feeds 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I got the peppers for this ages ago, then kept getting side-tracked (it is tax season, so I have little time to cook). By the time I was ready to make it today, only one green pepper was still good. BUT THIS WAS STILL DELICIOUS! Mods: 1 green pepper, only 3 tsps chili powder (bf doesn't like too much spiciness), half the salt, froze the tofu, and for beans I used 2 cups garbanzos, one small can red kidneys (rinsed), and one pound dried black (cooked up). This recipe smelled delicious while cooking and was so perfect. I topped mine with a bit extra Frank's Red Hot and cheddar. BF mixed in cheddar and sour cream. *so happy* ALSO the recipe yield is accurate, don't add more liquid, and the recipe filled my 6-qt slow cooker. Take 2: 4 tsp chili, cattle beans in place of black, all peppers included, no tofu Take 4: 5 tsp chili, 6 cups cattle/soldier beans, 2 cups black, 1 can kidney beans Take X: 2 Tbs (6 tsp) chili, 6+ cups black beans, 2 cups garbanzos, 1 can kidneys, three green pepper and one red, and I only had three onions in the house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I also used TVP instead of tofu and this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used 3 onions instead of four and less chili pepper and hot sauce, based on the reviews and absolutely love it! Next time, I'll use the 4th onion, though. I thought it would be too oniony, but it's surprisingly not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved this chili, but true to my nature I did not follow the recipe strictly. I used only 2 cans black beans, 1 can kidney beans, and 1 can chili beans. I also used only 1 can diced tomatoes, and then 2x 10 ounce cans diced tomatoes with green chilies. I also added a 4 ounce can of diced green chilies, and omitted the tofu. It was absolutely delicious!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l<3s2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Delicious without any changes. Can also be cooked on stovetop for a quicker result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Loved this recipe!!! I did make 2 changes, I used a variety of beans and I used meatless crumbles instead of tofu. My meat eaters even devoured it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I thought the dish was amazing; I would leave out the tofu next time as it distracted me from all of the other yummi ingredients. The tofu tasted fine, just not my cup of tea. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States