Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was GREAT! I was planning on making another tofu dish but realized I didn't have one crucial ingredient at the last moment. Taking inventory of the things I DID have, plus a quick ingredient search, resulted in making this recipe. So poor planning on my part led to a great discovery of this chili! Since I hadn't planned on making it, I didn't have time for the slow cooker, but let it simmer for about an hour and it was great. I used kidney and pinto beans (due to pantry contents) and orange pepper instead of red (due to fridge contents.) I halved the recipe (just the hubs and me) and it was plenty for us and some leftovers. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
WoW! Awesome tasting recipe! I added 1/4 cup red wine at the beginning. Seemed to work.This Filled a 6 quart pot so half the ingredients in a smaller one. Put corn chips in a bowl, ladel this on top, shredded cheese on top of that, then have sour cream and guac on the side with it...yep this recipes a KEEPER thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have tried dozens of vegetarian chili and this is by far my favorite. I substitute 2 of the 4 cans of black beans with black beans in a cumin chili type sauce. I use 2 cans of diced tomatoes with (hot) green chilies instead of crushed tomatoes for extra zip. I also use one less onion and pepper and substitute the tofu with soy burger crumbles. Delicious! And plenty of leftover's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltomczak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was a bust. I'm not sure why but it just wasn't anything like chili it was just a pot of beans. I did follow the recipe exactly. Not going to be on my veggie rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very flavorful. Mildly spicy. Watch the quantity--it comfortably feeds 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I got the peppers for this ages ago, then kept getting side-tracked (it is tax season, so I have little time to cook). By the time I was ready to make it today, only one green pepper was still good. BUT THIS WAS STILL DELICIOUS! Mods: 1 green pepper, only 3 tsps chili powder (bf doesn't like too much spiciness), half the salt, froze the tofu, and for beans I used 2 cups garbanzos, one small can red kidneys (rinsed), and one pound dried black (cooked up). This recipe smelled delicious while cooking and was so perfect. I topped mine with a bit extra Frank's Red Hot and cheddar. BF mixed in cheddar and sour cream. *so happy* ALSO the recipe yield is accurate, don't add more liquid, and the recipe filled my 6-qt slow cooker. Take 2: 4 tsp chili, cattle beans in place of black, all peppers included, no tofu Take 4: 5 tsp chili, 6 cups cattle/soldier beans, 2 cups black, 1 can kidney beans Take X: 2 Tbs (6 tsp) chili, 6+ cups black beans, 2 cups garbanzos, 1 can kidneys, three green pepper and one red, and I only had three onions in the house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I also used TVP instead of tofu and this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used 3 onions instead of four and less chili pepper and hot sauce, based on the reviews and absolutely love it! Next time, I'll use the 4th onion, though. I thought it would be too oniony, but it's surprisingly not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved this chili, but true to my nature I did not follow the recipe strictly. I used only 2 cans black beans, 1 can kidney beans, and 1 can chili beans. I also used only 1 can diced tomatoes, and then 2x 10 ounce cans diced tomatoes with green chilies. I also added a 4 ounce can of diced green chilies, and omitted the tofu. It was absolutely delicious!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l<3s2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Delicious without any changes. Can also be cooked on stovetop for a quicker result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States