Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
HUGE HUGE hit at my party. Double recibe and made it in a huge crock pot. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Not bad but seems like it's missing something. I substituted veggie ground beef for the tofu and used raw veggies instead of sauteing them (just easier to throw it all in the crock before heading off to work). It had a great flavor but seemed too mushy throughout. Need a chewier or crunchy texture to go with it. Might try this again after trying a few others first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellent chili that I will continue to make. I may have done things a little differently than suggested: rinsed the canned beans, used no-salt chili pepper, froze and thawed the extra firm tofu, and used rooster sauce as the hot sauce. It turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG9881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
The taste was very, very good. We followed the recipe exactly. I wish I read some of the warnings from other reviewers about the chili powder. I guess it does depend upon the brand of chili powder. We love hot and spicy foods, but the combination of the six tablespoons of chili powder and the one tablespoon of hot sauce was WAY too much with our Indian chili powder. Mouth, nose, eye and ear burning - enough that I ran to the store to get sour cream and plain yogurt to cool it down during the middle of dinner! The next time we'll use only two tablespoons of powder, and add hot sauce at the table if it needs it. It's easy to add more heat that way. It's hard to remove the heat once it's in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe was tasty but it had too much salt. I think there are a couple of reasons for this: I used Morningstar veggie crumbles instead of tofu and they are salted, chili powder already has salt in it, canned beans and tomatoes are also already salted. You may want to hold off on adding the salt until you've cooked it for a while and then tasted it. I also agree that it is very spicy and could use a bit less chili powder. (Reducing the chili powder could also help reduce the salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
So delicious! The recipe is enormous, so I halve it for about four servings total. I also reduce the amount of chili powder because I don't like food really hot. I've also made it on the stove top when I don't have time to slow-cook it and it is DELICIOUS. I've been making it two or three times a month since I found it. The inclusion of tofu is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This chili was delicious hands down! The only things I changed were replacing one can of black beans for a can of kidney beans and I only used one large onion as I am not a big fan of onions. The chili tastes incredible on nachos, with cheese on top and rice, and even as the sauce for huevos rancheros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
The is really one of the best chili recipes that I have found! I also halved the recipe and used veggie burger crumbles, but I only used about half the onion and instead of black beans I used one can of light red kidney beans and one of dark red kidney to make it more like regular chili. The only other thing that I did differently was instead of using a red pepper I used a yellow one which is think added some nice color to the dish. I added some cheddar chese and ate it with tortilla chips. It was excellent!! I will deffinately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is hands-down the best veggie chili I have ever eaten! I didn't have hot-sauce (the chili powder is plenty spicy though), and used veggie burger crumbles instead of the tofu. I also halved the recipe. For some reason mine looks more "soupy" than the picture - but still tastes delish! With the tortilla chips, guac, and sour cream suggestion, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This recipe is TRULY IMPRESSIVE, and this is coming from a newly-converted vegetarian! I had always thought that juicy beef made good chili. No, I was wrong! As this recipe demonstrates, it is the right choice and proportion of veggies and spices that blends the flavor and texture together that makes this chili outstanding. I halved the recipe but followed the ingredients proportion exactly. I do not have a slow cooker so I simmered it in a pot on stovetop for about 2.5 hours. The "mountain" of chopped veggies was reduced quite a bit at the end, and gives a thick, authentic consistency. All the spices are just right. Thank you so much for this recipe -- I have no regret turning vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States