Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe was tasty but it had too much salt. I think there are a couple of reasons for this: I used Morningstar veggie crumbles instead of tofu and they are salted, chili powder already has salt in it, canned beans and tomatoes are also already salted. You may want to hold off on adding the salt until you've cooked it for a while and then tasted it. I also agree that it is very spicy and could use a bit less chili powder. (Reducing the chili powder could also help reduce the salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
So delicious! The recipe is enormous, so I halve it for about four servings total. I also reduce the amount of chili powder because I don't like food really hot. I've also made it on the stove top when I don't have time to slow-cook it and it is DELICIOUS. I've been making it two or three times a month since I found it. The inclusion of tofu is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This chili was delicious hands down! The only things I changed were replacing one can of black beans for a can of kidney beans and I only used one large onion as I am not a big fan of onions. The chili tastes incredible on nachos, with cheese on top and rice, and even as the sauce for huevos rancheros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
The is really one of the best chili recipes that I have found! I also halved the recipe and used veggie burger crumbles, but I only used about half the onion and instead of black beans I used one can of light red kidney beans and one of dark red kidney to make it more like regular chili. The only other thing that I did differently was instead of using a red pepper I used a yellow one which is think added some nice color to the dish. I added some cheddar chese and ate it with tortilla chips. It was excellent!! I will deffinately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is hands-down the best veggie chili I have ever eaten! I didn't have hot-sauce (the chili powder is plenty spicy though), and used veggie burger crumbles instead of the tofu. I also halved the recipe. For some reason mine looks more "soupy" than the picture - but still tastes delish! With the tortilla chips, guac, and sour cream suggestion, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This recipe is TRULY IMPRESSIVE, and this is coming from a newly-converted vegetarian! I had always thought that juicy beef made good chili. No, I was wrong! As this recipe demonstrates, it is the right choice and proportion of veggies and spices that blends the flavor and texture together that makes this chili outstanding. I halved the recipe but followed the ingredients proportion exactly. I do not have a slow cooker so I simmered it in a pot on stovetop for about 2.5 hours. The "mountain" of chopped veggies was reduced quite a bit at the end, and gives a thick, authentic consistency. All the spices are just right. Thank you so much for this recipe -- I have no regret turning vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Delicious! Very easy and as other users have said, you can add or subtract the chili powder/hot sauce to suit your taste. I fool my meat-eater husband every time with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I loved this recipe. Like kimberleyowen who reviewed last year, I substituted the Morningstar Farms veggie crumbles. I have served this to neighbors and friends and every one loves it. Quick and easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WinoAtHeart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magick2421
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was my first time trying a veggie version & im thrilled to say this will now be my go to recipe for chili. I also used the morning star crumbles, rotel & varied the beans as other people had suggested. Thank You for a great start to my Vegetarian Collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I invited both vegetarian and meat-loving friends over to enjoy this chili. It was a hit! I cooked a bag of black beans in place of the canned. I also cut back a bit on the chili powder and hot sauce because my husband doesn't like it too spicy. Next time I would use the additional spice because my guests and I were adding hot sauce to our bowls for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veglover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States