Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
In my version, I used 2 cans of black beans and 2 cans of kidney beans. In addition to the Tofu, I also added vegan meat crumbles and it really made the chili texture awesome. I think it could use a little more kick so next time I am going to add 7 tablespoons of Chili Powder and a little more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Loved this veggie version chili. I cut back chili powder to 4 T and left out the Tabasco but added half of a jalapeno pepper finely diced with the onions and peppers. Also, we like tomatoes so added a 28 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes. The pot was full and so were our tummies. My husband really liked this and it will be a winter staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
way too much tomato paste... would make it again but change the proportions ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is very tasty - my meat-eating husband even enjoyed 2 bowls.!! We substituted boca crumbles for tofu, and only1 large onion and added a little water to cook as it looked a tad too dry when all the ingredients were added to the crock pot. Will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was a delicious chili. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is that the ingredients overflowed my slow cooker (literally it started bubbled out the sides of the lid and made quite a mess). I think next time I will make 3/4 the recipe (but keep the same amount of tofu). My 11-year-old son and husband also loved it. My 9-year-old son wouldn't touch it but he is extremely picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe is really wonderful. It will convert meat eaters to eating tofu! It is a real keeper. We have been fighting over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
HUGE HUGE hit at my party. Double recibe and made it in a huge crock pot. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Not bad but seems like it's missing something. I substituted veggie ground beef for the tofu and used raw veggies instead of sauteing them (just easier to throw it all in the crock before heading off to work). It had a great flavor but seemed too mushy throughout. Need a chewier or crunchy texture to go with it. Might try this again after trying a few others first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellent chili that I will continue to make. I may have done things a little differently than suggested: rinsed the canned beans, used no-salt chili pepper, froze and thawed the extra firm tofu, and used rooster sauce as the hot sauce. It turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG9881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
The taste was very, very good. We followed the recipe exactly. I wish I read some of the warnings from other reviewers about the chili powder. I guess it does depend upon the brand of chili powder. We love hot and spicy foods, but the combination of the six tablespoons of chili powder and the one tablespoon of hot sauce was WAY too much with our Indian chili powder. Mouth, nose, eye and ear burning - enough that I ran to the store to get sour cream and plain yogurt to cool it down during the middle of dinner! The next time we'll use only two tablespoons of powder, and add hot sauce at the table if it needs it. It's easy to add more heat that way. It's hard to remove the heat once it's in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States