Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I've been making this chili for a while now. Here's what I do: I don't saute the veggies before hand anymore, the oil is just added calories..throw them in raw. This is way too much for my slow cooker. I halve most spices, garlic powder for ease, 2 cans black beans, 1 can kidney beans, 2 cans diced tomatoes (one being spiced). I don't use tofu or any meat substitute, as the 3 cans of beans really is enough substance. So after those changes, I'm not sure that it's "fair" to rate it since I changed a lot of things - but I'm still going to. It's great as written, but as with all recipes - you'll eventually find what works best for you. I also sometimes add a little cinnamon or a small square of chocolate to change things up a bit and make it a slightly sweet chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Really Good! I made it as directed, except after reading that it was very spicy, I added only 4 of the 6 table spoons of chili powder and omitted the hot sauce. It still came out slightly spicy, but not over the top! I added mushrooms, celery and substituted kidney beans and white beans for three of the cans of beans and had one can of black beans. It was VERY good! Even my picky teens liked it! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is really good! I oopsed and added the tofu to the tomatoes in the slowcooker rather than mixing it into the vegetables in the skillet, but it still tasted great. I also crumbled the tofu rather than cutting it into cubes-- it's much less noticeable that way. Two carnivores never noticed they weren't eating meat. And whoever said that this is too spicy? I used maybe 5 tablespoons of chili powder because of others' comments, but next time I'll use 6 heaping tablespoons, to give it a bit of kick. Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: I've switched to another brand of chili powder, and now I only use 3 tbsp. The quantity you use depends not only on how well you tolerate spiciness, but also on the type and age of your spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
AWESOME! it came out delicious.. only thing i did different was add a teaspoon or more of sugar to balance the flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I've tried many vegetarian chili recipes over the years and most of them are just lacking. I almost gave up, thinking that chili just needs meat - until this recipe. Awesome! I recommending halving though, unless you need alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Perfect. I cut the recipe in half and cut the Tabasco sauce by a 1/3 because the kids were scared of the the hot flavor. No loss in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Best chili I've ever had. Had to add a little more spice at the end, but I eyeballed the measurements in the first place, so it was probably my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
In my version, I used 2 cans of black beans and 2 cans of kidney beans. In addition to the Tofu, I also added vegan meat crumbles and it really made the chili texture awesome. I think it could use a little more kick so next time I am going to add 7 tablespoons of Chili Powder and a little more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Loved this veggie version chili. I cut back chili powder to 4 T and left out the Tabasco but added half of a jalapeno pepper finely diced with the onions and peppers. Also, we like tomatoes so added a 28 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes. The pot was full and so were our tummies. My husband really liked this and it will be a winter staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
way too much tomato paste... would make it again but change the proportions ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States