Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Although I reduced the chili powder by 1/3, this chili tasted awful to me. I think it was too spicy, had a burnt taste, and maybe too much cumin, and/or the crushed tomatoes I used, an organic name brand, tasted bad. I tried to doctor it by adding diced tomatoes, then sugar, but neither my husband nor I wanted to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I tried this for the first time and did everything except the cumins it came out so delicious, You can take all the ingrediants and put it in the blender and them cook it in the oil and once cooked add the tofu and then the rest. OMG it was good my kids even ate it. I added corn and red kidney beans instead of the black and just added 1 can. thank you for the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I am no longer afraid of tofu! My meat-loving, tofu-hating husband had seconds, and declared it great chili. Made exactly as written. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Fab, Simone. My wife is (perpetually) dieting (hope I spelled that correctly, I can 't remember ever using the word before). we both like chili, so I have made this a few times. I make this with a mix of black and pinto beans. And the wife and I being heater eaters, I skip the hot sauce and use serrano peppers. Purr-fection. I also leave out the tofu and don't miss it at all. And I always want a can of mushrooms in it. WOW!! Many thanks, Simone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Wow! What a great recipe. Thank you for sharing this one. I did add the Morningstar Farms recipe crumbles as well. Also used 1 can black beans & 1 can of dark kidney beans, as well as no salt added, organic canned tomatoes. Next time I will omit the oregano and use cumin, fresh cilantro and a bit of lime juice for more of a TexMex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
My family and I did not care for this recipe. All that money for all those cans of beans down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was really good after you get past how spicy it was. I followed the recipe just as written with the exception of cooking it on the stove rather than in the crockpot. I will make this again but I will cut the chili powder probably in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I would have given the recipe a full 5 stars, had it not turned out extremely hot to the taste. I followed the instructions to the letter and just halved the recipe as described, however, it was way too spicy. I then needed to add more beans, more tomatoes, and even a little honey to try to cut down on the spiciness and found myself with a very large pot of chili....enough to feed "The Waltons" on TV. When I prepare it again, I will definitely eliminate a lot of the extra heat by leaving out the hot sauce and some of the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiminycricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I served this to my meat eating friends and they could not believe it. Some saying it was better than "Moms". I put in some vegetarian meat crumbles the last hour which made it a little thicker. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Lillestol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I've made this a few times and I think it is the best vegetarian chili I have ever had. I only use about 2 Tbsp. of oil, just enought to saute the veggies, and it comes out just as good. I've made it with Morningstar Farm crumbles instead of tofu, and I like it both ways. This is a staple for me in the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States