Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
We made this recipe exactly as it is written and most of the family really liked it. However, I agree that it had too much seasoning, which took away from the flavors of all the other ingredients. Next time I will try and remove a few things, but overall this was a good recipe- especially for how wonderfully healthy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Best Chili -even my carnivore hubby loved it and begged for more! Halfed the chili powder and nixed the hot sauce for my delicately paleted family. Also used tvp and one less can of beans and it was rockin:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Rothrum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
My daughter has been loving this recipe for two years now (she's 10 now). At school she is known as the "chili" girl. The main thing is that she will not eat it unless it has meat. So I used this recipe with the following changes: 1/4 onion, 1/2 red pepper, 1/2 yellow pepper, 1 to 1 1/2 lbs of ground meat of your choice, garlic salt instead of regular salt, 3 tbs of chili powder (she doesn't like it spicy) and no hot sauce. Follow the instructions for cooking in the slow cooker. I freeze portions in freezer bags. She says that it taste better after freezing. Maybe flavor fusion? She will take this chili over a sandwich any day! I'll keep the original version for my hubby;) Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was amazing! The only thing I did differently was use Yves Veggie Ground Round in place of the tofu, and added celery and mushrooms (because I love them!) My meat loving father raved about it and probably wouldn't have even known it was veggie if I didn't tell him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yummy! Had to make this less-spicy for my 10-year-old vegetarian daughter & it was still great. Might have to split it next time & make one hot & one not. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. We all love it in my house & have shared it with family and friends. I always get requests for it when it is my turn to cook at my work's "Lunch Club." However, it is far too hot for most of us w/ all 6 tablespoons of chili powder and the Tabasco. I just halve that during the prep and put out the Tabasco (along with the sour cream and shredded cheddar) when serving for those that like it spicier. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This recipe is awesome for a vegetarian. I have now made it about 3-4 times in big batches and get better with each tweek of some ingrediants. I don't that much oil but probably 2 TBS and let the veggies steam rather than fry in the pan. I'm Asian Indian so add more garlic and chili to taste and I don't use salt (the tomato makes up for it) I've tried it with tofu and soy beef and i have to say i like it with soy beef better. I also add in other veggies such as carrots and dice them up very very tiny. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Although I reduced the chili powder by 1/3, this chili tasted awful to me. I think it was too spicy, had a burnt taste, and maybe too much cumin, and/or the crushed tomatoes I used, an organic name brand, tasted bad. I tried to doctor it by adding diced tomatoes, then sugar, but neither my husband nor I wanted to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I tried this for the first time and did everything except the cumins it came out so delicious, You can take all the ingrediants and put it in the blender and them cook it in the oil and once cooked add the tofu and then the rest. OMG it was good my kids even ate it. I added corn and red kidney beans instead of the black and just added 1 can. thank you for the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I am no longer afraid of tofu! My meat-loving, tofu-hating husband had seconds, and declared it great chili. Made exactly as written. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States