Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Used this recipe many, many times. My friends think I'm a genius. ha ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I used a lot less oil and a lot less chili powder. I also threw everything into the crockpot the night before and then put it on to cook the next morning. The four hours cook time was more than plenty. When it was done, I added a little more cumin to taste. I'll make it again, but agree with another user who said don't bother precooking the vegetables. Just put them in and let them cook with everything else - especially if you are going to leave the chili cooking for six hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
We're not even vegetarians and I've still made this chili a few times, just because we like it so much. Due to the slower cooking process, and especially if you first press your tofu between 2 plates with a heavy object on top for an hour or more, the tofu is quite meat-like. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it was good. I'd make it again. Thing is though, the reason I gave it only 4 stars is that there is no way this doesn't need some liquid. I added about a cup and a half of water at the end, upon discovering how not soupy at all it is. Not even stewy. Or you could just add the liquid with the beans and not drain them, if you can digest it. That'd be just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
We really enjoyed this and the kick it has! As with any recipe you can tweak it to suit your taste. Before tossing in the veggies, I cubed the tofu (like one might chicken breast for chili)and fried it in the oil until browned. (Remember you are using olive oil and it has a lower smoke point than other oils) I omitted the green pepper and put another red pepper in it's place. I feel the flavor of green peppers is often overpowering. I used 2 parts New Mexico Chile Powder and 1 part Ancho Chile Powder. The other tweak I made was to double the hot pepper sauce. If using Tobasco brand, I would follow the recipe. We keep Crystal Pepper Sauce in the fridge and it does not have the same kick as Tobasco. After adding the tomatoes, beans and spices only cooked it for 1.5 hours to get the flavors to meld. When chopping up the large quantity of onions and peppers I was a bit concerned. It cooked down just fine. The small amount of tomatoes also concerned me, as I usually always have almost the same amount of tomato as beans. This chili does have a bit of a kick and got me to break a sweat. It's a good heat and not an uncomfortable burn your mouth off hot. It's very tasty and would make it again. I might even try the TVP crumbles that others tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sick Rick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have made this recipe often since 2009, at first with tofu, more recently just with ground meat (a pound of ground beef and a pound of ground venison today.) I used to follow it exactly, now I use it as a guide. Very good, very tasty. Kudos to the inventor!! I came looking for it in here today so I could print out a new copy, and thought that I would throw in a review lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownleg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Despite being a house full of carnivores, this might just be the best chili we have ever made. Only change I made (out of necessity) was I added 4 different types of beans because I didn't have 4 cans of black beans on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Best veggie chili recipe I've ever tried.Thank you for sharing this recipe. The only change I make is to pan fry the bite-size tofu chunks a bit before adding to pot. Every time I make this I am blown away by the flavor! SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and added some corn. My family doesn't like spicy foods, so I cut the amount of chili powder by 2/3 and added 2 tsp of smoked paprika. I'm making it for the second time in a month and am using "beef" crumbles instead of tofu, which I used last time. Also, I find it tastes better next day, or even a week after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, but cut it in half as the original quantities make a huge batch. It was delicious with just the right amount of spice without being too hot. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Petruzzelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States