Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This recipe was very satisfactory to all of my guests, even though I was the only vegetarian present. I didn't attempt to "fool" my guests (this is so cruel), but prepared them ahead of time I was preparing a vegetarian chili. They really enjoyed the spicy flavor. I served the chili with vegan cheese and a tofu sour cream, fresh coleslaw (prepared with veganaise), and homemade rolls. My non-vegan family and friends truly enjoyed this animal-friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Dixmont, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Family and friends loved this chili!! I substituted Morning Star Vegetable Crumbles (it looks like pre-cooked hamburger) for the tofu and nobody knew that it was a vegetarian dish. Absolutely tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was REALLY, REALLY good. Out of necessity I did a substitution on the beans, but I don't think it made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This is the best chili I've ever had. As a recently new vegetarian I was surprised as the tofu tastes just like meat! You'd never miss the meat. My carnivorous boyfriend loved it. I halved the recipe and it easily could of fed 6, so it makes A LOT! I'm not the biggest chili fan but I never thought to serve it with nachos, guacumoule, sour cream and cheese, a la Mexican style. Great idea and I'll totally make this one regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was great! I've been looking for a slow cooker vegetarian chili for awhile. The only changes I made were using 2 cans of black beans, and 2 cans of white beans (what was in the pantry). I also eliminated the tabasco sauce and chili powder (not usually in a college student's pantry) and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
My family loved this recipe! I used YVES ground tofu instead of the package firm tofu and also added one hot jalapeno. WOW..EXCELLENT DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Absolutely delicious - REALLY spicy, the mention of guacamole and sour cream is not really a suggestion. The chili had a great full body and did not seem too watery. A couple minor changes/substitutions I made - 1/2 less onion, 1/2 T of red pepper powder instead of Tabasco (I was out), 1 can of kidney beans instead of black beans (again, I was out). Even my carnivorous fiancee approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My kids even liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was really good; the chili flavor was like a meaty chili and not predominantly vegetable flavored as some veggie chilis are. The red bell pepper was particularly good. I added the tofu as it said but I think in the future I'd try soy burger. Even in the slow cooker all day the tofu just didn't taste like much. Also, I used half the onion it said and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Delicious with the side of guacamole and/or sour cream. Awesome texture, very meaty, with a lovely sweet and spicy flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States