Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was delicious! I halved the recipe (from 8 to 4), used a can of corn in place of one of the cans of beans, sliced 2 carrots and cooked them at the same time as the onions, used only 1 tablespoon of chili powder (all I had) but 2 tbs of Tabasco and threw in a bit of ground cayenne pepper, thickened it with a 1/2 cup corn starch in the last hour and garnished with sour cream and cheese. Thank you to the original person who posted this and all of the excellent tips provided by others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was awesome!! The vinegar scared me a little, but I love the result. Since my husband and I are dieting, I used 1/2 cup broth instead of the olive oil to simmer the vetables in. The flavor did not suffer at all without the oil. Will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
SOOO YUMMY!! Super easy, and I loved that I had all the ingredients already in my kitchen. It was a hit in my house. My husband loved it, and never missed the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent - We served alongside some elk chili in a crowd of mostly meat eaters and 2 true vegetarians. There were no leftovers. Made exactly as stated, except in the dutch oven instead of the crock pot. Spices were perfect for my 18 month old daughter - not sure about the reviews that said it was too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This recipe is an excellent chili all on its own but can also be used as a base to do some personalizing. I made it with morningstar crumbles instead of the tofu. We also like our chili with chunks of tomatoes so I added to 15oz cans of diced tomatoes with the juice (which makes it go further and balances out the thickness the crumbles add to it). if you want it with more (like my hubbie) cut the chili powder in half and add a mccormick HOT chili spice packet. I've even made it with 1 cup of guinness stout and it gives it a great depth of flavor (turn the veggies up to a high head at the end of cooking them, add the guiness & cook for a few minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_adams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
awesome! i substituted the tofu for smart ground and the carnivores never new the difference. i also did half black, half kidney beans for some texture...yum! i've used the leftovers over egg whites for a hearty breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Best chili I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Not at all what I expected from all the hype. Definitely decent chili, but 5 stars? No. I followed the recipe exactly, but I was not very impressed. Sure, it was spicy. But flavorless. 3 stars though! Better than most!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was a great recipe. I took it to a family reunion with the intention of having something vegetarian for myself and everyone (even the meat eaters) loved it! I used a variety of different beans, left out the tofu, added mushrooms and added 2 tbsp of brown sugar to cut the spiciness a little because I wanted the older family members and kids to be able to enjoy it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great chile, my husband and I were both very impressed. The only thing I might do differently is to saute the tofu separately because with so many things in the pot at the end, they could not be "lightly browned" as the recipe said. However, it might not make a difference and we liked the tofu in it regardless. Otherwise, I don't think I will make any huge modifications to this recipe in the future, but I will make it again. An amazing vegetarian option that does not sacrifice any flavor when the meat is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States