Meatballs with Raisins and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
My husband made these and I loved it! Don't be put off by the amount of onions in it, they become nice and sweet after cooking and with the raisins, honey and cinnamon. We used ground turkey with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this with half ground chicken and half ground beef, and added in the onion as another reviewer suggested. I also used bread soaked in milk and the balls formed nicely. I also added a fair bit more water and some chicken broth for the sauce. It had a great sweet/savory flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
My husband came in and asked what was for dinner. I said "meatballs." He looked in the pot and said "Raisins with meatballs?" He was rather skeptical ... After a few bites, he looked at me and said, "My dear, you have once again achieved the unlikely." He likes it! And so do I. It's an unusual combination of flavors, but very good! I think it needs something else, though ... cloves ... and/or garlic ... maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Initially, I got the “Huh?” look from my family when I mentioned this recipe, but once the meatballs were on the table, they were eaten with gusto. Having made this recipe several times now, I've made a few adjustments: 1) Grate one onion and use this in the meat. It's easier to form the meatballs 2) use 2-3 pieces of soggy bread that are either torn or sliced. One piece wasn't enough to hold together all the meat 3) add more raisins (but, that's a taste preference) 4) add more Middle Eastern spices. We add a pinch of cardamom, some allspice and lots of cumin. The additional spices and raisins help increase the sweet to savory ratio. Finally, about those onions. Yes, they do produce water and create a liquid for the meatballs to simmer in. And with the additional spices, they are quite tasty. But 5 were just too much. Because we eat the meatballs as is (rather than served with pasta or rice), the onions overwhelmed the meat. I've since cut down on the number of onions used and add water instead before simmering. Overall, great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Very tasty. A unique combination of flavors. We served it over brown rice and there was enough sauce to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I was really surprised at how well this worked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
These were Amazing! I didn't use all of the onions but next time I will. Onions produce water and I needed a few extra tablespoons. I also added garlic to the meatballs. DE-LISH! These will absolutely be a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was okay, but like other reveiwers i felt like it was missing something. I tried adding some allspice and it seemed to just enhance the sweetness, maybe something to had a bit og spiciness to contrast with the sweet would work better. Play around with it, and it could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was very very good. I scaled this down and left the egg out. I used panko bread crumbs and added a plash of 2% milk to dampen them barely. I used dried minced onion in the meatballs themselves and sliced the rest up instead of chopping them. I didn't use nearly the amount of oil they called for, only used as little as possible. I used chicken broth instead of water as is my norm. I paired this with some basmati "simple spiced rice" that had cinnamon stick and bay leaf and it was a perfect combo! Thanks for a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These meatballs are delicious. I liked them so much I made them for the Christmas Table at my firm and got raves in response. My favorite compliment was, "Great meatballs. In fact, it's more than a meatball."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Meatballs

Find out how to make meatballs for appetizers, sandwiches, soups, and pasta.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States