Meatballs with Pepper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was good, I made it with all the same ingredients, I just added a tablespoon of mustard, a tablespoon of vinegar and some paprika to the sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great Recipe! I look forward to modifying it next time. The peppers lend a wonderful flavor. I plan to 1. Reduce the brown sugar by 25% (don't tell my wife) 2. Add some egg &/or bread crumbs to the meat balls to make them slightly more dense. 3. Experiment with either paprika or home made chili powder to add a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
The recipe as is would be more suited as an appetizer (make the meatballs smaller and serve with fancy toothpicks). For an entree it was very good, but way too rich and sweet. Next time I make it I plan on omitting the ketchup and brown sugar entirely. I might add a cup of tomato sauce instead and some red pepper flakes for kick. As you suggest, served over rice or noodles. We topped ours with a dollop of ricotta cheese. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynnergyrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Way too sweet (even after cutting back on ketchup and sugar) and lacked the flavor I was hoping/expecting for. Not sure I'd make it again even with additional adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I never made meatballs before but a friend of mine asked me to make them for a pool party!! THEY WERE A HIT!! Everyone LOVED them! I cheated and used frozen turkey meatballs and I added a little mustard and vinegar to the sauce (like suggested before) and a can of tomato sauce. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is excellent! I didn't have any mushrooms but decided to make it without. I added 1 T. of mustard as suggested by someone else. Since I was using regular ground beef, I placed the meatballs on a baking sheet covered with tinfoil and baked at 375 degrees. After 30 minutes, I drained off the oil. I then removed the tinfoil for the last few minutes and continued baking to let them brown. I served it with rice. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
It was delicious!! I eyeballed the brown sugar, and added about a tablespoon of mustard. I don't think we could have eaten the meatballs any faster!! Nice little zip to it and a good sweetness as well. Might consider adding a bit of vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole DiNatali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was good, if not a little sweet, with homemade buttered noodles. I used 1 1/4 cups kethcup(thats what i had) and half an onion(we like), next time i would put whole onion, maybe less sugar and add some red pepper flakes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States