Meatballs and Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Wow these were soooo good, and very easy to make with packaged meatballs. I used a 2.5 lb bag of meatballs with the same amount of sauce, and had none left over. We just ate them as appetizers, next time I will dbl the sauce and serve them over noodles. And when I say next time, I mean later this week!!! I did add one package of a jus gravy mix (low sodium) and will do so again or maybe use beefy onion soup mix as the sauce was Very thick, great for appetizers, but I would want thinner over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I Love this, I have been making it for the past few Holidays, and its always a hit! No need to modify this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I was so tired of sweet meatballs for a party. So glad to find this idea! I call these my holiday "snow balls." Instead of marinating the meat overnight,I used half and half ground turkey and beef and the recipe for meatloaf on the Lipton Beefy Onion Soup and Dip mix. I made mini meatballs (about 1") and microwaved them (about a dozen at a time on a plate covered with paper towel for drainage) for 2 minutes. Then I transferred them to the awaiting white sauce in the slow cooker for complete cooking and warming. Makes about 6-7 dozen cocktail meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Made for TWO work potluck lunches back to back, to great reviews both times. The frozen meatballs I buy come in 4 lb bags so that's what I used - regular kind not Italian, personal preference. I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup to 2 cups of sour cream to 3/4 cup milk per 4 lb bag of meatballs and there was plenty of sauce. The only downsde is when someone asks you for the recipe and you have to admit how FREAKIN' EASY it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dzm388

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Great and easy recipe. I subbed in Miracle whip for the sour cream and it worked out brilliantly. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Used this recipe to make a stroganoff sauce for the meatball pasta dish I made. Didn't use canned cream of mushroom soup or store bought meatballs. I made my own homemade cream soup base then added sourcream as suggested, milk in place of water and sautéed minced garlic and onion for extra flavor for the sauce. Used Chef Johns meatball recipe which is flavorful and an excellent combo with this sauce! Served over pasta. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made these as stated first and would give them three stars. The sour cream was too overpowering for me. Then, I made up a packet of brown gravy mix (1 cup) and added it, and it made them much better. I served over pasta as "Swedish" meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I just made this recipe today for dinner. I sautéed two tsp of minced garlic, and chopped onion. I used one can of cream of mushroom and 2 cups of sour cream. I added some Worcestershire sauce, onion powder, and Cajun! It was easy to make, definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These were really tasty and easy to make. But they looked unattractive. I was really excited about them when I did a taste test. But they got a very lukewarm reaction at the party. A few people did say they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great EASY recipe! I halved it, roughly, and because I read other reviews before cooking, I decided to use some white wine in place of the water. I don't recall making any other changes though and it was very delicious! I am excited to make this again and start adding to the recipe to make it more our own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States