Meatball Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I did not like the texture of these meatballs. And they fell apart in the sauce. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is THE best recipe for spaghetti and meatballs I have ever found. My daughter loved it and she HATES spaghetti. Thanks so much for submitting it France :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
My husband like it but it wasn't what I had expected. I should have used less bread crumbs and little less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I thought the recipe was ok. I only used the meatball part. Like a previous reviewer suggested, I baked them for about 25 minutes at 350 and then rinsed them. The bottoms of the meatballs were burnt, but that's ok, it didn't really affect the taste of the meatballs. I only used 1 1/2 onions and after mixing it all up, it was way too much. Also, I added a teaspoon of oregano instead of parsley for more flavor. At the end of it all, I thought it tasted like the italian bread crumbs I had put in. The meatballs were kind of soggy and not very meaty. Tasty, but still soggy. I simmered them for 25 minutes and they were still not too meaty tasting. My boyfriend liked it, but he's not the one who does the cooking =P so I'm going to continue searching for that perfect meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I only used the meatball recipe since I already have a spaghetti sauce recipe. Thank you so AgentLucy for her suggestions for how to cook the meatballs; it saved me a lot of trouble. I used 3/4 cup breadcrumbs & 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. I only used a splash of milk so they wouldn't be too dry. I also used 1 tsp italian seasoning instead of parsley. Using all the milk would have been a disaster! I baked them, rinsed them off & added them to my sauce & simmered for 30 min. They held up great in the sauce; didn't fall apart at all. Worked out wonderfully-my first attempt at meatballs was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made the meatballs for a big dinner party for my friends. I took the advice of some of the other reviews and I baked the meatballs in the oven to keep them from breaking up in my sauce. My friends loved them and it didn't take a lot of time at all to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Here is the solution to keep your meatballs from falling apart: place the raw meatballs on a 9 x 11 baking pan and bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes. When cool, I place them in a colander and rinse (yes, I rinse them) with hot water. This drains the grease so you don't have any "swimming" on top of the sauce. Then I add them to the sauce and simmer for an hour. The meatballs came out wonderful!! I did not use any onions nor water and used tomato sauce instead of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Thanks France, this was great as last minute dinner!! And my picky husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
We actually made the sauce as noted here and it wasn't good. The meatballs fell apart. The salad and bread we had was good though. DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
The meatballs were great! I sautéed the meatballs in olive oil before adding to my sauce (I only made the meatballs from the recipe and combined it with my own sauce) because I saw the previous reviews stating they had a tendency to fall apart. I first made them for my husband (who loved them) and then later at a Labor day cookout and I over heard one of my guest state the sauce and meatballs tasted like his mother used to make. This is a staple that I will keep in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States