Meatball Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This should really be a 4.5 star review, but we can't do that on here :) The recipe was absolutely DELICIOUS. Yummy tasting meat, and I used Prego Meat sauce for my spaghetti sauce. I used an Italian loaf of bread instead of the french baguette. I did pretty much everything to a T, but the reason I rated 4 stars was because the cooking time was off. I would say 30 minutes is right about it if you're cooking it at 350, and I did preheat the oven before hand so I know that it needs longer cooking. I was making this for my husband before he went to work and saw that this would be pretty quick, but it ended up taking a bit longer due to the cook time. Even still, the recipe turned out delicious and it was ready right on time for him to go. I will make this again, but definitely make sure you cook the meatballs for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I had alot better. Kinda disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was amazing!!!! Meatball subs are one of my favorite foods and this was the best meatball sub I have ever had. I followed other reviewers suggestions and made it on hoagie rolls instead of the baguette. Other than that, the recipe is perfect as is and is definitely worth trying out. Thank you so much for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Absolutely wonderful....made just as the recipe stated. I did triple the recipe and used 1 pound of each...hamburger, bison, lamb. Made a total of 31 meatballs. Used hoagies, hollowed out. Will make this over and over again. Thanks for sharing an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delish. Used saltines instead of bread crumbs and used hot dog buns and shredded italian cheese. Just what we had on hand. Great basic meatball recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I followed directions as posted. The meatballs weren't as good as I'd hoped them to be. To me, they taste like frozen store bought. Too much filler (bread crumbs) for my taste. I won't be making these again and if I do, I'll use much less bread crumbs as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carneys Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Very good. I didn't have baguette bread but did on gourmet dinner rolls. Next time will do on baguette; it does need the sturdier bread. My kids loved loved loved it! Thank you for the recipe. The only suggestion I would make (and its obvious), you might want to add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Loved it! Doubled the quantities, making 12 proper, half-fist-sized meatballs; baked at 325 for 20 then 350 for 10 minutes; and used a more generous pinch for the seasonings. The temp/time alteration was because my pans tend to overcook (nonstick and dark), and the meatballs were huge so I wanted to cook for 30 minutes but did not want them to be overdone. Do use the inside of the baguette for breadcrumbs. Just stick the bread pieces in a food processor/magic bullet. What I love most about this recipe is I didn't have to run to the store for anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hewitt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexisarizona
Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
From the positive comments, I knew this was a good recipe, so I decided to make enough meatballs to freeze. I used 3 lbs of hamburger and 1 lb of mild Italian sausage. I then quadrupled the other ingredients for the meatball mixture, then cooked 12 of them (30 minutes, not 20) and put the others on a waxpaper-lined baking tray in the freezer. After 2 hours, I took the frozen meatballs out and packaged them 12 to a package using my handy-dandy Food Saver (freezer bags would work fine). Now I have 3 more dinners worth of meatballs for sandwiches or spaghetti. Some comments said they added salt to this recipe. I'm a salt lover, and I didn't think it needed additional salt. I have always bought frozen meatballs in the past, but I'll be making my own from now on....these are so easy and taste so much better!! Thanks for a really good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States