Meatball Orzo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Super yummy and very comforting! I love the basic recipe. I used "party" sized meatballs, which were bite sized. I did not have any orzo in the cabinet, but I had some dried cheese tortelini. I also added a bunch of tiny broccoli florets. That made it a one pot meal. It was great. I can imagine orzo would give the soup a nice texture. I loved the tangy lemony broth. I'm thinking that fresh herbs tossed in right before serving would be nice next time. From what I gather, after doing a recipe search of avgolemono, that you can really make this soup your own. This is a great recipe to get started. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I will definitely make this again! It was fast, easy and so delicious! Very nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Absoulutely amazing! I made it for my roommates and they raved! Use a little sugar to offset the lemon juice if its too bitter for your taste. Extremely hearty and a great treat, a real stick to your ribs kind of meal. This one is going in the permanent collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I really love this soup, it's so simple and really has a wonderful flavor. I did find that it tastes better after it sits overnight. I didn't change anything in the recipe and it was very popular at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Followed some of the hints - extra orzo, also used more zucchini, and put quite a bit of cayenne in my meatballs. It was FANTASTIC. Everyone loved it - the spice was a really nice balance to the citrus. mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Friends and family love this soup. Quick, easy and delicious. I do it exactly as written except that I make my own meatballs. It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Yum! Even my very picky 3 year old eats it (but I don't let him watch me cook it because of the Zucchini base.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe was so delicious, my husband wanted seconds and told me this can be made a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrettsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seven Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Great and Easy Recipe. Didn't have meatballs and didn't have time to make them, so just cooked ground turkey and added that to the soup. I reduced the pepper to 1/2 teaspoon (because of the children), didn't add zucchini because wasn't in the refrigerator, used fresh lemon juice and increased the orzo to a very generous cup. I have made the recipe twice and both times my 5 year old, 2 year old and husband loved the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I love this recipe. This is my first time to taste orzo...and I really like it. This recipe is very easy and fast. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savta Sinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States