Meatball Orzo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was so simple, and with so few ingredients that it will be a regular weeknight staple at our house. I added a little sauteed onion and used chopped kale and spinach in place of the zucchini, but other than that I would leave it as is. Delicious! I will make a low carb version next time by leaving out the orzo, but that would be for a dietary reason, and certainly not one of flavor or texture. This was a home run with my family ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nimuae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I modified it a bit and the outcome was delicious. I decided to add fresh spinach, chopped onion, and chopped carrots to increase the amount of vegetables in the soup. I skipped the egg and used lemon & pepper seasoning instead of the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nursegirl
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great soup for the time involved-quick to make! I unintentionally put less than the amount called for of chicken broth in the soup and the result was a thick and creamy soup/stew. I was skeptical about adding the lemon egg mixture, but found that it tasted good. Next time I make it will use homemade meatballs and the correct amount of chicken broth :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is currently cooking in the crock pot at my house for dinner tonight...SMELLS DELICIOUS!...can't wait! **UPDATE: I really liked this soup, it was very hearty and had a great taste. I added spinach instead of zucchini to it and used the small frozen Italian meatballs. I had no complaints myself, and my father-in-law to be really liked it too! Everyone else, however, could not eat this! My 6 yr old daughter couldn't stomach the looks of the soup long enough to even taste it...and I have to admit, it's definitely not a pretty site...but if you can get past the looks, the taste is well worth it! My fiance also couldn't stomach it...he had texture issues with the spinach and the pasta. I would highly recommend not adding the pasta until you're ready to eat it so the pasta doesn't get mushy...so leftovers may be an issue if you have a texture issue as well. Definitely worth making and trying!...Just don't look too long at it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
very easy and tasty. will likely use a little less lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I gave this original recipe a 1star because my husband hated it ...I really thought it was disgusting! My eight year old refused to eat it and my two year old spit his out! I made it again without the lemon and egg mixture a few weeks later and it was okay...maybe a 3star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Made my own meatballs from another recipe on this site. This soup is SUPER YUMMY and I will definitely be making it again! Perfect stick-to-your-ribs soup, especially for cold weather. Made my house smell so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved this recipe, really easy to make and adapt for yourself. I did do a couple of variations just with stuff I had in the house. I cooked this with rice instead of orzo and used green peas (added during last 10 minutes) instead of zucchini. Also, I added just a little bit of Greek seasoning that I had in the house. I didn't use the eggs at all (allergic to eggs). The best thing about the recipe is that it reheats nicely for leftovers, so my husband and I ate this for a couple of lunches later that week. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great soup! We added more spice to the broth, Maggi and Worcestershire to spice it up. We used Danish meatballs. We added the orzo just prior to serving so it wasn't mush! Great thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Thanks for the recipe, it was very easy! I didn't have zucchini so I just grated 2 carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States