Meatball Grinders with a Yummy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as written, and I will give it 5 stars with the following modifications: NO salt. I used Kroger brand pizza sauce, which had PLENTY of salt in it; other brands may vary. (Taste before adding the salt!) The next time I make this (oh, and there WILL be a next time!) I will use grape jelly and a teaspoon or so of lemon juice instead of apple jelly. This does make a lot of sauce. After making it, I froze half of it for use at another time. Like others, I used the recipe for "The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have" also found on this site. Thank you, Krystalk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I used Jalepeno jelly instead of Apple jelly and it was great! Still had a little sweetness, but it had that little bit of heat that made it just right. And double the amount of meatballs, there'll still be plenty of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I have to say this one surprised me. I was looking for a quick and easy recipe for meatballs and I found one. It was simple to make and when the family sat down to eat, EVERYONE enjoyed it. The children even ate this meal...I am talking about a 9 yr old and a 6yr old! There was even enough for my brother in law and myself to take leftovers for lunch tomorrow! GREAT RECIPE! It will be used over and over again in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was delicious. One of the few recipes from allrecipes.com that my family actually enjoys! It's a quick and easy recipe. You could also use rolls to make mini meatball grinders for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Wow, this is really good! I used grape jelly (about 3 T.) and a whole, large bag of frozen meatballs. We toasted buttered/seasoned hoagies with mozzarella cheese under the broiler and then added the meatballs. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Speedway, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
We all liked these. The sauce was really good, but there was definitely too much of it. You can easily halve the amount of sauce and keep the amout of meatballs the same. We put sliced olives and sauteed bell peppers and onions on the sandwiches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Very good party pleaser!...and I didn't even add the italian seasoning. Next time I will make it with the seasoning. Im sure it enhances the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Wow, excellent sauce! I cut back just a little bit on the apple jelly based on other reviews and used three heaping tablespoons instead of 10 oz. I put all the ingredients in a slow cooker along with a double batch of "The Best Meatballs You'll Ever Have" on this site. This does make a lot of sauce, so don't hesitate to add more meatballs than this recipe calls for. I cooked the sauce in the slow cooker for about five hours. Great meal for after church on Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was excellent! I made these to go with my son's pirate-themed birthday party (we called them 'cannon ball sandwiches, LOL). My in-laws thought they were very good, and my MIL even took the leftovers and made spaghetti. I did them in the crock pot on low for about 5 hours, and I added an extra bag of meatballs to the sauce because some reviewers had mentioned this made a lot of sauce. Also, I could only find an 18-oz jar of apple jelly so I used a little less than half. I didn't think that the sauce was too sweet, but a perfect balence of sweet/tangy. Thanks for the post! We enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I followed reviewer ginarenee's suggestion and we found this dish very good. It makes lots and it is more flavorful the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States