Meatball Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I made these for Christmas, and my family raved over them. My boyfriend's Italian mother said that they are the same cookies her old Italian aunts make for wedding spreads. She gave me a tip, that adding a bit of red food dye to the frosting will give it a shinier appearance. Other than that, these cookies tasted perfect, they'll definitely be made again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This Christmas cookie is my favorite and I got the recipe from my mother-in-law. The only difference is hers is chock full of things- nuts, mini chips and raisins. They are awesome. We finish them with frosty white glaze and optional red berry sprinkles or dried cherries. I double the recipe and always use shortening instead of butter. Be prepared to get your hands in this batter to mix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I liked these cookies, they are different BUT I didn't like the 'adjusting it with either the flour or milk' once the dough was mixed. I had to adjust a few times and it was messy. I decided to not do the glaze just put them in a ziplock bag with powdered sugar. They were awesome after that. The sugar helped offset the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I made them at Christmas time and stuck most of them in the freezer for myself and put very few of them on the Christmas cookie trays I made for people. Wonderful combination of chocolate and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a big hit at my office. Next time I will not put as much of each spice in. The cookie was even better after a few days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
i have been looking for this recipe for some time, they are very good ,everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
YUM! My husband devoured these and he doesn't like sweets. I only made half the glaze recipe and used 1 cup chocolate chips instead of 1 cup of nuts. Dough very easy to handle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Perfect for te holidays. I refrigerated the dough for easy handling. I think they would be great dipped in melted chocolate instead of the glaze. Athena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Thank you thank you thank you. I have been searching for this recipe for years. These are hands down my absolute favorite cookies in the world. My Sicilian Nana has been making these every Christmas since I was a little girl and I never knew what their real name was, so I had nowhere to begin to look for the recipe. I have to admit, I'm not crazy about "meatball cookies" as a name, but the cookie is perfect. I followed the recipe exactly and refrigerated the dough overnight. 10 minutes in my oven was perfect, and don't skimp on the glaze! Thanks again, I am so excited to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made these last year for Christmas. I make lots of cookies and this year I will make these first, when kept chilled the flavor only gets better over time. If you plan on making a whole bunch of cookies do these ones earlier and let the flavor build.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States