Meatball Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
THese are ok. I won't make them again. The frosting is too much. The cookie itself it too spicy. The chocolate taste funny with the spices. Nothing is really meshing well here. My husband isn't excited he has to help me get rid of them. He would much rather eat the other cookies I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I almost didn't try this recipe due to the name, but once I saw the ingredients I realized it was probably the recipe I had hoped to find. I was looking for an Italian chocolate spice cookie one of grandmother's neighbors made when I was a child. I think this is actually better; at least it is more moist than I remember. Those I had way back when were not frosted, but dipped in a 10X sugar glaze and set out to dry before storing. That's what I did, and they were tremendous. My (very Italian) mom loved them, as did my picky Irish husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Incredible! Totally authentic and perfect for dunking (coffee NOT milk, please). I will certainly be adding these to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
These smell like Christmas as they're baking. The taste is unique; the spices compliment the cocoa and vice versa. I shared these with my co-workers and several of them requested the recipe. If spicy flavors aren't your thing, find a traditional chocolate cookie. Otherwise, try something new and different, like I did, and hopefully be pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My Italian grandma used to make these cookies all year round. This is exactly the taste we remembered! I made a batch and surprised my dad on his birthday. He hadn't had them in many years and they met with his approval! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
What a wonderful cookie! I made 3 batches--one for home, one for holiday gift boxes and one to freeze. They were a big hit with everyone! The combination of the chocolate and the spices is delicious. A great cookie with afternoon tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I grew up eating these cookies baked by an Italian neighbor and have been trying to find a recipe for years. I knew that the recipes included cinnamon and some other spices that I could tase just a hint of. I made a batch of these according to the recipe and had to start over. I found the spice quantities to be over powering. However, with the second batch, I cut the spice quantities in half and they seemed much better. Overall, once I made the adjustments, the cookies were a hit; easy to prepare and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Recieved many compliments by those who tried it and was a favorite on my cookie tray. Both my grandfather and sister could not stay away and my grandfather asked to keep the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terka
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
i think i'm one of the first to give this a bad review. no one seemed to care for these at all unfortunetly. probably just not our thing. sorry!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Very good recipe. I added some mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States