Meatball Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I really did not care for the flavor of these cookies. I thought the chocolate and spice would be a nice change, but it didn't jive with anybody who tried them. I tried one right out of the oven (they smell really good) and was really disappointed. I thought it would be better once I frosted it, but it only improved a little. I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
They tasted good but everyone thought they were gingerbread cookies. I might make them again if I get the chance. They smelled awesome! I'm going to make them again this year just because they smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
THese are ok. I won't make them again. The frosting is too much. The cookie itself it too spicy. The chocolate taste funny with the spices. Nothing is really meshing well here. My husband isn't excited he has to help me get rid of them. He would much rather eat the other cookies I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I almost didn't try this recipe due to the name, but once I saw the ingredients I realized it was probably the recipe I had hoped to find. I was looking for an Italian chocolate spice cookie one of grandmother's neighbors made when I was a child. I think this is actually better; at least it is more moist than I remember. Those I had way back when were not frosted, but dipped in a 10X sugar glaze and set out to dry before storing. That's what I did, and they were tremendous. My (very Italian) mom loved them, as did my picky Irish husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Incredible! Totally authentic and perfect for dunking (coffee NOT milk, please). I will certainly be adding these to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
These smell like Christmas as they're baking. The taste is unique; the spices compliment the cocoa and vice versa. I shared these with my co-workers and several of them requested the recipe. If spicy flavors aren't your thing, find a traditional chocolate cookie. Otherwise, try something new and different, like I did, and hopefully be pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psi1497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My Italian grandma used to make these cookies all year round. This is exactly the taste we remembered! I made a batch and surprised my dad on his birthday. He hadn't had them in many years and they met with his approval! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
What a wonderful cookie! I made 3 batches--one for home, one for holiday gift boxes and one to freeze. They were a big hit with everyone! The combination of the chocolate and the spices is delicious. A great cookie with afternoon tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I grew up eating these cookies baked by an Italian neighbor and have been trying to find a recipe for years. I knew that the recipes included cinnamon and some other spices that I could tase just a hint of. I made a batch of these according to the recipe and had to start over. I found the spice quantities to be over powering. However, with the second batch, I cut the spice quantities in half and they seemed much better. Overall, once I made the adjustments, the cookies were a hit; easy to prepare and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Recieved many compliments by those who tried it and was a favorite on my cookie tray. Both my grandfather and sister could not stay away and my grandfather asked to keep the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States