Meatball Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Thank you thank you thank you. I have been searching for this recipe for years. These are hands down my absolute favorite cookies in the world. My Sicilian Nana has been making these every Christmas since I was a little girl and I never knew what their real name was, so I had nowhere to begin to look for the recipe. I have to admit, I'm not crazy about "meatball cookies" as a name, but the cookie is perfect. I followed the recipe exactly and refrigerated the dough overnight. 10 minutes in my oven was perfect, and don't skimp on the glaze! Thanks again, I am so excited to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a big hit at my office. Next time I will not put as much of each spice in. The cookie was even better after a few days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I liked these cookies, they are different BUT I didn't like the 'adjusting it with either the flour or milk' once the dough was mixed. I had to adjust a few times and it was messy. I decided to not do the glaze just put them in a ziplock bag with powdered sugar. They were awesome after that. The sugar helped offset the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
They are OK. Not a family favorite by any means. I looked all over for a chocolate spice cookie recipe. Guess this was not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These were delicious! I was looking for a way to combine cloves and chocolate, and this recipe hit the spot. I replaced the walnuts with milk chocolate chips but otherwise followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These were in my grandma's recipe box which I didn't have with me after my move. I was glad I found it here. I added chocolate chips and raisins which was in my grandma's recipe. The combo of spices is what adds sophistication to this cookie. I rolled half the batch in the chocolate glaze and half in confectioner's sugar (also in grandma's recipe). Now that I think of it, you can put half and half on one cookie and make it really fancy! This chocolate glaze is simple and can be applied to other cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
We always had these for holidays. In our family they were called Italian Pepper Cookies. The very SPECIAL ingredient was black pepper. Usually a Tablespoon but this varied with taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Puleo Pierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, but decided to add 1 cup of mini chocolate chips. They were magnificent! Needed to work the dough with my hands. Rolled into about one inch balls, and made about 70 cookies. I halved the glaze recipe (as someone suggested) and ran out with about 12 cookies left to glaze, so I whipped up a little more. They taste like authentic italian cookies. Delicious and beautiful on the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made these last year for Christmas. I make lots of cookies and this year I will make these first, when kept chilled the flavor only gets better over time. If you plan on making a whole bunch of cookies do these ones earlier and let the flavor build.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
These were pretty good!! I added 1c. splenda and 1/2 c. sugar. I had to add milk to the mix while adding the flour, the dough was too dry, but it all turned out great! I used a small melon baller dipped in flour to make the "balls" and for the frosting I used approx. 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 large tbsp. cocoa powder and 1 tsp. chocolate syrup and 1 large tbsp. strawberries and cream frosting, and enough milk to make it runny. I put it in a ziploc bag, snipped off the corner and drizzled the "balls" with the frosting. They tasted like chocolate covered stawberries!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYBOLTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States