Meatball Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
These were pretty good!! I added 1c. splenda and 1/2 c. sugar. I had to add milk to the mix while adding the flour, the dough was too dry, but it all turned out great! I used a small melon baller dipped in flour to make the "balls" and for the frosting I used approx. 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 large tbsp. cocoa powder and 1 tsp. chocolate syrup and 1 large tbsp. strawberries and cream frosting, and enough milk to make it runny. I put it in a ziploc bag, snipped off the corner and drizzled the "balls" with the frosting. They tasted like chocolate covered stawberries!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYBOLTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have eaten these cookies most of my life or as much of it as I can remember. My family adds a jigger of whiskey to them. Maybe it is the Irish in us. We call them Chocolate Italian Cookies and make all year long. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Well, this recipe is my new alternative to make chocolate cookie which all started look the same. I doubled the ground clove and add 6 tbsp honey, plus refrigerate it for a night to make the dough more stiff. The flavour is unique and it smells good. I also used chocolate icing, but decide it taste better without the icing. Thank for this recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bLissfull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I love these cookies, my Italian grandmother called them brownie cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Rinaldi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Absolutely the best cookie ever! I made this at Christmas time for my fiance and he LOVED them, said they tasted just like the ones his Mom made. Everyone devoured them. Definately going to be making this cookie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Amazing Cookie!! My boyfriend wanted to be adventurous so we added a plash of Amaretto to the dough and countered the moisture with flour, no measurements, just went by feel. Then made my own glaze/frosting and added a splash of amaretto, and WOW. He took them to work xmas eve, we'll see what the reviews are this afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are so yummy and fairly easy to make. My daughter enjoyed rolling the dough into balls. The spice and chocolate compliment each other well. I didn't use the glaze, instead I sprinkled them with powdered sugar as soon as they came out of the oven. They look and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Meh, these were just ok. The dough was slightly tough to work with, and the recipe calls for way too much glaze - half will do. I thought I'd be making 30 larger cookies, given the "serving size" but in fact wound up with about 65 cookies. Like someone else said, you'd expect a sweet cookie judging by how they look, but they're not. Flavour was nothing to write home about- the spices and chocolate surprisingly didn't complement one another. I don't know, maybe I'll bring these over to an Italian friend to see if they like them! I'm hoping these are a nice pairing with a good coffee. They DO look super cute, though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Ok , not sure if I would make them again. 1/2 the spices and baked 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This Christmas cookie is my favorite and I got the recipe from my mother-in-law. The only difference is hers is chock full of things- nuts, mini chips and raisins. They are awesome. We finish them with frosty white glaze and optional red berry sprinkles or dried cherries. I double the recipe and always use shortening instead of butter. Be prepared to get your hands in this batter to mix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States