Meatball Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I love these cookies, my Italian grandmother called them brownie cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Rinaldi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Absolutely the best cookie ever! I made this at Christmas time for my fiance and he LOVED them, said they tasted just like the ones his Mom made. Everyone devoured them. Definately going to be making this cookie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Amazing Cookie!! My boyfriend wanted to be adventurous so we added a plash of Amaretto to the dough and countered the moisture with flour, no measurements, just went by feel. Then made my own glaze/frosting and added a splash of amaretto, and WOW. He took them to work xmas eve, we'll see what the reviews are this afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are so yummy and fairly easy to make. My daughter enjoyed rolling the dough into balls. The spice and chocolate compliment each other well. I didn't use the glaze, instead I sprinkled them with powdered sugar as soon as they came out of the oven. They look and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Meh, these were just ok. The dough was slightly tough to work with, and the recipe calls for way too much glaze - half will do. I thought I'd be making 30 larger cookies, given the "serving size" but in fact wound up with about 65 cookies. Like someone else said, you'd expect a sweet cookie judging by how they look, but they're not. Flavour was nothing to write home about- the spices and chocolate surprisingly didn't complement one another. I don't know, maybe I'll bring these over to an Italian friend to see if they like them! I'm hoping these are a nice pairing with a good coffee. They DO look super cute, though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Ok , not sure if I would make them again. 1/2 the spices and baked 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This Christmas cookie is my favorite and I got the recipe from my mother-in-law. The only difference is hers is chock full of things- nuts, mini chips and raisins. They are awesome. We finish them with frosty white glaze and optional red berry sprinkles or dried cherries. I double the recipe and always use shortening instead of butter. Be prepared to get your hands in this batter to mix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom of  Two
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These were very tasty and fairly easy to make once I got the dough to the right consistency. I did not have ground cloves or the all spice, I added extra nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon to try and make up for the cloves. They came out great. When glazing the cookies I gave up on using a teaspoon to spoon it over the cookies, I just started dipping the cookies right in the glaze ended up being much easier. My Italian mom has been making these for years and she said mine were very good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I really did not care for the flavor of these cookies. I thought the chocolate and spice would be a nice change, but it didn't jive with anybody who tried them. I tried one right out of the oven (they smell really good) and was really disappointed. I thought it would be better once I frosted it, but it only improved a little. I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
They tasted good but everyone thought they were gingerbread cookies. I might make them again if I get the chance. They smelled awesome! I'm going to make them again this year just because they smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States