Meatball Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I was expecting last minute guests and had very few groceries on hand so I had to substitute a few things. I used ground beef for the turkey, I had no parmesan cheese so I left it out of the meatballs (how sad). The only fresh veggies I had were 2 onions, so used them and used frozen mixed instead of celery and carrot. (We desperately needed to go shopping) The soup came out so fantastic that I am making it again tonight keeping the substitutions the way I made it before, (except for the parmesan of course) because my guests even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious! I've never had much luck making soup, but this made for an easy, tasty, and healthy one-pot meal. I mostly followed the recipe, though I substituted small pasta shells for the alphabet pasta, and threw in some kale and parsnips that I wanted to use up. I think this recipe is pretty forgiving; you could probably add in pretty much any vegetables you had on hand. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Outstanding! Very good flavor. Any pasta would do, but the kids like the alphabets. I used ground beef in place of the turkey...sprinkled a bit of Parmesan on individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was super excellent. I loved the tomato-ey broth and the meatballs. I used rotini instead of alphbets, which I really liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Excellent as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum! I was looking for a filling yet low fat soup and this one is perfect! I used what vegetables I had on hand and Rotini pasta. The soup would have been just as good without the pasta. I didn't use the tomatoe paste and I used a large can of crushed tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes. I think this is a recipe that you can change in many ways, but it always turns out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was delicious! I used Italian sausage seasoning in the turkey instead of the various ingredients in the recipe (it ends up being basically the same thing...just more of a sausage flavor). I also used bread crumbs in place of oats. I did everything else the same way, except using orzo pasta in place of alphabet. The whole family ate it right up...I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
this is EXCELLENT and very healthy soup! so hearty and spiced wonderfully! i made it JUST as written--thanks for this great fall soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This soup is so good. Its of my favorites now. I made it exactly as written. I froze the leftovers in little containers for work. It re-heated really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious!! I did double the meatballs though as everyone loves them! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States