Meatball Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I was expecting last minute guests and had very few groceries on hand so I had to substitute a few things. I used ground beef for the turkey, I had no parmesan cheese so I left it out of the meatballs (how sad). The only fresh veggies I had were 2 onions, so used them and used frozen mixed instead of celery and carrot. (We desperately needed to go shopping) The soup came out so fantastic that I am making it again tonight keeping the substitutions the way I made it before, (except for the parmesan of course) because my guests even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious! I've never had much luck making soup, but this made for an easy, tasty, and healthy one-pot meal. I mostly followed the recipe, though I substituted small pasta shells for the alphabet pasta, and threw in some kale and parsnips that I wanted to use up. I think this recipe is pretty forgiving; you could probably add in pretty much any vegetables you had on hand. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Outstanding! Very good flavor. Any pasta would do, but the kids like the alphabets. I used ground beef in place of the turkey...sprinkled a bit of Parmesan on individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was super excellent. I loved the tomato-ey broth and the meatballs. I used rotini instead of alphbets, which I really liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Excellent as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum! I was looking for a filling yet low fat soup and this one is perfect! I used what vegetables I had on hand and Rotini pasta. The soup would have been just as good without the pasta. I didn't use the tomatoe paste and I used a large can of crushed tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes. I think this is a recipe that you can change in many ways, but it always turns out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was delicious! I used Italian sausage seasoning in the turkey instead of the various ingredients in the recipe (it ends up being basically the same thing...just more of a sausage flavor). I also used bread crumbs in place of oats. I did everything else the same way, except using orzo pasta in place of alphabet. The whole family ate it right up...I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
this is EXCELLENT and very healthy soup! so hearty and spiced wonderfully! i made it JUST as written--thanks for this great fall soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This soup is so good. Its of my favorites now. I made it exactly as written. I froze the leftovers in little containers for work. It re-heated really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious!! I did double the meatballs though as everyone loves them! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States